You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chicory: A Medicinal & Culinary Perennial (And How To Make Roasted Chicory Root)

I didn't know it was such a versatile plant. I had digestion issues for many years. Doctors couldn't help me as they didn't find anything in my blood. At the end I went to the nutritionist who told me that the way I eat is great BUT I am missing the bitter ingredients. Well, I really dislike the taste. But I agreed to buy artichoke drops and it helped. I feel much much much better.

Now when I hear about chicory I think that I will try to replace my drops with coffee with chicory root. It sounds so interesting and it is much more natural than drops from pharmacy.

And I love that you can use the whole plant! I wonder how many people know about that..

Thank you for sharing the recipe. I will try to purchase the root and see what I can do :) Congratulations on the curie vote! I'm very happy that this post has such an attention as it is very useful!

Sort:  

Thank you so much for sharing your story @delishtreats! Bitter is really important for our wellness and the North American diet is very lacking in this area. I've just written a post on making digestive bitters that I'll be posting today.

A few years ago before I started growing my own I was able to order roasted chicory root on-line in a reasonable sized bag. I am sure you'll have no trouble finding some pre-roasted. We didn't grow nearly enough this year so I might even have to order more later in the winter.

Thanks so much for the encouragement, I really appreciate it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55117.74
ETH 2310.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31