Steady Rains Today - Day 244 - Haiku - Musings on Frigid Winter, a Healing Dog, and Gratitude for it All

in #naturalmedicine6 years ago (edited)

20190119_153526 - Slushy Winter Day, Before hard freeze.jpg

Steady rains today
First warm, now getting colder,
Deep freeze by morning

After a high of 62 yesterday, and of 52 today, tonight is plunging back down to around eighteen degrees, which, after raining nearly all day, makes me doubly glad that I work from home and don't have to drive anywhere early tomorrow morning on icy roads.

Marek was joking that I should buy ice skates. Nope, I'll pass, but thanks all the same.

I did find, after our last polar plunge, when we stayed below freezing for nearly three days, that a few of the leaves on my largest goji berry plant, and on my August Beauty gardenia, had been frost killed.

Most of the leaves bounced right back, though, which I expected on the goji berry, but was pleasantly surprised that the gardenia did so well. I had actually meant to bring it inside, and simply missed it when I was bringing in plants, so it's good to know that it will handle these temperatures, even in a large pot.

Our expected high tomorrow is 32 degrees, right at freezing, so I'm hoping we will follow our recent pattern of our highs being a bit warmer than predicted, to give our animals a bit of a break from the cold.

And yesterday was our third dry day in a row, so I was finally able to do a couple of hours mowing, and made some serious progress. Even better, I was able to find most of our fruit trees without running them over, no mean feat in grass roughly three feet (just under a meter) tall.

Of course the day before would have been even better, but that's the day I took Lolo to the vet and met Marek outside of Nashville, so those took precedence over mowing. I knew from the outset that there was no way I'd get home before dark.

But, after a few more rainy and cold days, we're expecting a couple more dry days early next week, so I'm hoping I'll finally be able to finish, at least in the front yard.

It does seem a tad ridiculous to still be mowing at this point in winter, but that's what happens when the mower keeps balking, so those are the breaks. Fortunately I like to mow.

Lolo is doing much better, his fur is already growing back in, although now that his bandages are off, it does feel like his hemotoma on his ear may be returning despite the meds. Damn. At least he is feeling much better.

I'll be starting a new course in February on healing infections naturally, without antibiotics, which I wish I'd already had when this whole thing started.

I did what I could using natural remedies, and it ceased getting worst, but when it wasn't getting any better, and even the holistic vet recommended antibiotics, I finally caved.

I hate using them unless it is absolutely mandatory, but my gut told me to go with her recommendation. I'm praying this is the last time they will be necessary. As soon as they're finished, I'll start building up his microbiome again.

He does still have bacteria on his skin, especially on his back, though the lotion she gave me took care of the yeast overgrowth. So she switched his antibiotic to one more effective against this type of bacteria, which I'll start him on tomorrow.

I did ask her if kombucha on his skin might help, as I use it on my skin all the time, to wonderful effect. I used to have seriously peeling skin in the winter, especially on my face, but once I started using fresh brewed kombucha as a toner I only rarely have that issue.

And my skin tone, softness and elasticity have all improved, just from using kombucha on my skin.

She said to go ahead and try it, as it couldn't hurt, and may well help. If nothing else, it will restore the acid balance to his skin, and should help get rid of the bacteria as well.

The beneficial bacteria and yeast in the kombucha may overpower them, and the harmful bacteria don't fare well in an acidic environment, which is why using vinegar to clean your countertops works so well.

As for myself, I've got spiced hot cider on the stove, I'm getting ready to make another pot of soup, and I'm as ready for the cold as I'm going to be. Marek is right. We really need a fireplace.

Lolo is curled up behind my chair, Bear is curled up in a box nearby, Musica and Truffle are curled up in the kitchen near the heater, and all's right with the world.

Now I just need to make the bed and drag out our down comforter yet again. It was made for this weather, and I am very grateful to have it, and to be inside and warm in this weather..

So here's hoping that everyone stays warm and comfortable tonight, despite the cold outside, and that among the goals I accomplish this year are improved digs for our outside animals - all of them.

Life is wonderful, and getting better, better and better. ;-)

I am dedicating this post to #gratitudelog, and to further this project, half the liquid proceeds earned from this post will be transferred to the author of the top post(s) chosen using this tag.

The photo above was taken by me on the 19th of January, the day before the full moon, when it had also been pouring rain all day just before a deep freeze in the teens. I'll be grateful when this weather is behind us.

#haiku #tribegloballove #tarc #yah #ecotrain #thewritersblock #smg #ghsc #thirtydayhaikuchallenge #teamgood #steemsugars #teamgirlpowa #womenofsteemit #steemusa #qurator #steemitbasicincome #bethechange #chooselove #photography #neighbors #beauty #love #animals #dogs #rescue #adoption #spayandneuter #homesteading #permaculture #naturalhealing #dogrescue #dogsofsteemit #rabbits #animals #grace #poetry #philosophy #beablessing #naturalremedy #gratitude #abundance #give #family #peace #tranquility #giving #donating #philanthropy #naturalhealing #pets #puppy #friends #music #musicians #hitchhiking #cryptocurrency #culture #peacemaking #peacemaker #friendship, #warmth #self-respect #respect #allowing #cold #freeze #freezing #winter

@edxserverus_5 - TSU Banner.png

SubscriptionPackOwner.png

ecotrain.png

The Writers Block.gif

https://steemitimages.com/0x0/https://tinyurl.com/y93h9wt4

TribeGlobalLove Banner.png

IOW COLOR MAP.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

Congratulations @crescendoofpeace! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 20000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 23 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 189 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

I bet your looking forward to that spring weather coming i just can not handle them cold days anymore i love living in Thailand with tropic weather all year round.

If you don't mind my friend and under no obligation can you vote my little baby Husky just go to the link below and cast your vote for number ( 232 ) Thank you my friend :)

Deadline is tomorrow night !!

[EN/中文]DailyPetPhotography yearly election | "每天寵物攝影" 年終總選 (2018)

Yes, I'm definitely ready for spring, and missing my home in Florida badly.

I'm used to starting my garden in fall, no

Posted using Partiko Android

Hope you can get there soon spring is around the corner...lol :)

Yes, I'm definitely ready for spring!

I'm missing my yard in Florida badly; I'm used to starting my garden in fall, not having all gardening come to a screeching halt for months!

Thanks for your comment, and have a great weekend.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yep that snow might be beautiful to look at but the novelty wears off and you have a great weekend also :)

Please don't forget to go vote for me on this link below if you don't mind my number is ( 232 ) just place that in the comment list. Thank you my friend :)

Today is last day for voting !!

[EN/中文]DailyPetPhotography yearly election | "每天寵物攝影" 年終總選 (2018)

The ground is so wet right now, if it actually decided to pour, we might be seeing some floods.

Posted using Partiko Android

I can relate. Lolo and his buddy next door, Hunter, have been playing right off our front porch to the extent that it's nothing but deep paw prints and a muddy mess. Oh joy.

And a week or so ago I nearly got stuck in the barnyard, it was so wet and mucky, and that's with all wheel drive! I am so ready for spring!

Happily it was dry enough today that I was able to mow for a couple of hours, so I'm at least gaining ground on knocking down the last of the 3' tall grass in our front field, and I'm hoping I'll finally finish tomorrow.

My neighbor was teasing me about mowing in 41 degrees, as the sun was getting low in the sky by the time I finished, but hey - when your mower craps out four times in one season, those are the breaks. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77