Wildcrafting after the Harvest Moon

Wildcrafting Herbs has been done for hundreds of years. Many people are so disconnected from the earth they don't even realize how much plant medicine is all around us, and quite a bit of food for that matter too 😀

258F8767-0708-4C84-A267-6207A14EC48E.jpeg

The Harvest Moon is a powerful time to harvest herbs as well. Plants align with moon and their energy is more potent after and during a full moon.

34F9443F-E1AB-4653-9928-C8207F21324F.jpeg

As I was hiking in Palmer Park I decided to search for some herbs to wildcraft for my Fall altar and to smudge my house with later.

B8365FE0-B310-4C19-9B15-34621A7267BD.jpeg

This is wild sage. It smells delightful and is said to cleanse 94% of the bacteria out of the air simply by being burned. I love the way sage feels. Normally you would use the leaves and I chose the top flowering part because I did not have a knife or scissors.

E45A43F4-AEAE-4897-BCC0-DB6E14777A8B.jpeg

One imperative part of wildcrafting is that you must ensure you only take an herb if there is plenty of it growing in the area. You don't want to deplete an already depleted herb and cause it to struggle to continue to grow. As you can see there was an abundance of sage and that's why I chose to wildcraft some of it.

924ED5F1-98CD-464B-8953-7306E71226B1.jpeg

Then I chose this juniper to add to it. Burning juniper is seen as a sign of good luck and juniper has a beautiful smell. You can also use the berries as a wound healer, just chew them up and place the juice in the wound. It's anti bacterial as well as an excellent wound healer. This piece was already wilted and looked like it was going to fall off. I always ask the plants if I may take from them as a sign of respect. We as humans have a deep connection to plants. Part of wildcrafting for me is tuning into that connection and only taking from plants that are open to that.

94021FB9-1C97-4731-A1C2-415377588013.jpeg

Lastly, I grabbed some cedar. Cedar is a great energetic cleanser and smells amazing. The bush was full and there were many so I took this beautiful Cedar for my smudge stick.

E6BFD13C-E34D-477A-BD39-CFC43593E4FE.jpeg

This is the final product and I have it drying and on display on my little altar by my front door. At the end of October towards halloween I will bundle this and burn it to cleanse my home.

I love all the beauty Mother Earth provides all around💜🙏🏻💕💙🍃🍂🌿

Sort:  

You’ve been visited by @trucklifefamily on behalf of Natural Medicine!

I love foraging, it is such an wonderful skill to have. we really are so lucky to have such an abundance of medicinal herbs growing around us. It is so important to know what you are picking and like you said to only take a little so as not to deplete the area. Such great advice @consicousangel7 and thank you for taking us with you,

NM GIF JUNE 2019.gif ###### Consider supporting Natural Medicine through continued use of the #naturalmedicine tag, or delegating any amount through clicking below. We're all for empowerment through natural wisdoms, and love to support those on their healing journey. Come join us on Discord if you're not already there! We'd love to have you! 50SPII50SPII100SPII200II500SP

Thanks so much for the love @truckfamilylife!

Yes, I wish more of us were in tune with the earth. So much healing all around!! Love my @naturalmedicine peeps 💜🙏🏻

Beautiful!!!!! I am growing some white sage this year... can't wait to harvest it!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

How lovely!! I want to try and make a sage tea, I've never done that before.

I made a medicinal sage oxymel with lime and it kicked my sore throat as far as Manitoba Springs! As far, not to.. 🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63030.98
ETH 2594.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74