You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chicory: A Medicinal & Culinary Perennial (And How To Make Roasted Chicory Root)

in #naturalmedicine6 years ago

What a fascinating read @walkerland! And such lovely photos. I must admit I don't like the taste of chicory but then I think store bought loses that fresh and powerful flavour of roasting yourself. Now to try to find chicory in South Africa!

Sort:  

The roasted scent was intoxicating - I really like it. It is bitter though! I took a good nibble at the raw root and it certainly fired up all those bitter receptors in my tongue! We cooked the leaves in a stew and it was delicious but raw they were too bitter for my taste. I wonder if you can grow it in SA? I hope you find some!

Not all the photos were mine this go around (I make notes under each one) I failed to take chicory flower photos for some reason. Pixabay had some lovely ones though. I love the first one.

That's interesting. I enjoy a bitter tang but not too wildly bitter! I noticed they weren't all yours but still good choices. I'll have to ask around about chicory plants. What conditions do they prefer?

According to the interweb: Chicory prefers fertile, well-drained soils rich in organic matter for best growth. IT can be grown from seeds or transplants. It grows wild in all kinds of hard packed soil. We grew ours in a raised bed with quite good soil.

Thanks @walkerland but I didn't explain correctly. I mean weather conditions? Despite having freezing winters it's not cold enough for apples here. And our summer's are the hottest in the country but we can't grow mango.

ah, sorry. It is always quite the adventure figuring out what will or wont grow. I've read that it grows in Australia and South Africa so it seems to be really adaptable to climate considering that it grows well here in Canada as well.

Will try to find it then, thanks @walkerland

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62884.65
ETH 2444.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61