You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Leaf Mold is Awesome!

Collecting this much leaves requires a large forest nearby! The small amount we manage to gather we put as a winter mulch under the fruit bushes. But to fill a pallet enclosing, that will take 20 bags of leaves and a proper forest! You are very lucky to have one! 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I collect all my leaves from people that live in my area. I use social media to reach out to people that are getting rid of their leaves. Generally that gives me more then I can use. My trees are still young so they don't produce many leaves yet and I like to let the leaves stay where they fall on my wild homestead.

People are throwing leaves away! Wow!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, I can get several hundred bags each fall from people that have already bagged them up and want to get rid of them. One reason I make the posts about leaf mold and other uses for fall leaves is to encourage people to not throw their leaves away.

I wonder why they throw them away? Maybe they don't have gardens and trees to mulch? But where the leaves come from then? I really hope your writing will make people throw out less!

Posted using Partiko Android

A lot of people just seem to think its "what you do" with leaves. It's just what all their neighbors are doing so they do it too. Even my neighbor who can see how I use my leaves does it--he gives me his leaves!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56