Witnesses: Who do you vote for and why?

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago

Being relatively new here, I can see the importance of selecting great witnesses, but do not know many well enough by direct interaction or reputation to vote for them. I also see there is an option to delegate my witness votes, but again, I do not know anyone well enough to delegate that responsibility. I am hoping that by keeping the conversation focused with the people and groups I have been interacting with and enjoying, all of you can provide some insights into who you vote for as witness and why. I have 27 additional witness votes up for grabs.

Here are my votes so far with recommendation or reasoning.

  1. @c-squared because they have been generous in helping me get started. I don't really know much about them though. Advice appreciated.
  2. @quochuy at the recommendation of @digitaldan for their great content in @naturalmedicine and homesteading
  3. @enginewitty at the recommendation of @riverflows for their support of @naturalmedicine

I will keep track of recommendations and update this list, both here and eventually drop it in the archives on the Naturalmedicine discord channel. Thanks everyone for participating!

Sort:  

Oh witnesses are very important and also I personally feel should only be voted after digging into them, as you seem to be doing. So thank you for thinking about this in a productive way ❤️

I would suggest not trying to use your votes up too quickly, I’ve been here a year and just recently hit my 30 votes. Go slow, read about witnesses.. their projects and what they do. Someone witnesses don’t post often by are highly technically capable and provide things behind the scenes. While others may be running a community or project etc. See what you think adds value and makes your decisions based on that.

One of the easiest ways to hear about them is to listen in to some of the witness forums. There is one once a month over on the PAL discord server as well as on The Ramble discord server. This gives you an opportunity to ask questions etc.

My only suggestion here, as I feel I vote for witnesses for personal reasons.. is to look into @oracle-d. They currently, in my opinion are doing huge things for the platform because they are actually bringing money and business into the platform, which is key for success. So, take a look at them.. ask questions etc.

I super appreciate your perspective and will look into @oracle-d per your suggestion. Thank you.

You’re so welcome! And also, since I just realized you asked about c-squared, it is actually my project that I started with markangeltrueman, carlgnash, and randomwanderings. The idea was to make a place to open up curation to the community (sort of crowminding it) and try to lift up great authors all we can. We have actually had some wonderful collaboration with other curation groups to work together to do more.

We started our witness about 2 months ago and Mark is our operator. He’s had 15yrs experience in the field and we call him our tech wizard. We use current witness earnings to run engagement contests as well as the curation in over 8 different languages.

We are a not for profit group and currently no one in the organization receives any sort of payment (other than authors of our curation posts, who split payout with featured authors).

In this market we are running at a loss (as are most witnesses currently) but the four founders are covering server fees as to not affect the contests, or curation.

Not a sales pitch, especially because you are already voting haha, just thought I should answer the question of at least the details of the project. Let me know if you have any questions!

Thanks again for the great information.

What a lovely comment @llfarms! We will keep doing our best!

Wow thank you! Appreciate the recommendation @riverflows. I've been here a little while and don't want to overwhelm you, but two that I would check into and vote for are @jackmiller and @c0ff33a😎

Posted using Partiko Android

I'll check into both of your suggestions. Thank you so much!

Congratulations @belleamie! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 200 comments. Your next target is to reach 300 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34