You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chicory: A Medicinal & Culinary Perennial (And How To Make Roasted Chicory Root)

This was such a great read. I have never heard if the chicory plant, it seem like a really interesting plant, packed with so many amazing benefits, now, everyone needs to know about this.

It was really resourceful of them to have used it as a coffee substitute, how does it tastes though, is it just like coffee or even better?

I don't like bitter tastes though, I am not sure if I am gonna enjoy taking it. Maybe using it topically (when needed) will be better for me, for a start. Well, until I get the courage to take in that bitter taste. I really don't know why "bitter" is really essential for us, I mean, what's inside of it? I will try checking for it around here, maybe I will spot it.

You recommended blanching it in hit water so as to reduce it's bitterness, isn't it gonna get rid of some of its benefits?

Sort:  

Bitter is a very interesting taste. A lot of people don't like it until they learn to use it in ways that taste good!

It will still have a lot of benefits when blanching the leaves. Chopping up a handful of leaves and cooking them in a soup is really nice, and tastes really good.

I mix the roasted chicory root with coffee and really enjoy it that way. It makes the coffee richer and darker and I really like it. That would be a good way to try it for the first time.

That's really great to know, I always try to stay away from anything bitter, it seems like I should start giving it a bit of attention 😃

Mixing it with coffee sounds like a great way to "sneak" it in, I hope I enjoy it just as you do... It all about finding what works for me, I will just explore the "bitter" world a little, chicory looks like a great place to start...

It's amazing that not even a part of this plant is wasted!

it really is an interesting plant.

When we first got into diversifying the types of food we grow and gather I found the slightly bitter taste of some of the wilder lettuces and greens a bit overpowering. A bit at a time and I've now come to really enjoy them. :)

One step at a time, I will get used to it. Hopefully!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55128.91
ETH 2303.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31