You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: EVERYTHING You Need To Know About Luffa (Loofah)

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago (edited)

We love lufah and they grow like weeds here in Thailand. So cheap to buy!! And such a great alternative to synthetic sponges and scrubbers. You DO need to boil them occasionally, as the lufah traps dead skin cells which invites bacteria, but it takes only a moment to boil them with a bit of lime or lemon skin to freshen them up and clean them.

Shared to the Natural Medicine on Steem Facebook page. Please come and LIKE us there, LIKE the content, SHARE and INVITE your FB friends to join you here on steem.

Also shared to the @c-squared curation community to help grow your support and your audience.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.

Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.

ecoTrain

Sort:  

I just throw our bath ones in a washer. The kitchen ones I put in the dishwasher on the sanitary cycle when needed but we have soooo many so when they get even a bit of use we compost them and get a new one.

We only have cold water for washing, and def NO dishwasher. LOL you're clearly NOT living in south east Asia. 🤣 Boiling is super resource & time efficient. Whenever I miss having a dishwasher, I remind myself of how much water & energy they guzzle - we simply cant keep having appliances like that if we care about climate change & Mother Earth.

Thank you for your opinion. No, I do not live in Asia. I live in the USA. From my research, the dishwasher uses far less water/energy than washing by sink. It has a filter in there that recycles the water to reuse before it flushes it out for the final cycle. Dishwashers aren't made the same....there are plenty of energy-efficient varieties, one of which I have. It uses less water and less electricity then say running the hot water tank and wasting water to wash a sink full. Especially because I pack the dishwasher full and we don't pre-wash....just scrape them clean. I understand the lifestyle is quite different here from there. I'm sure you have ways of doing things that are quite different than here. I am also a single mom who works full time, homeschools my child, runs a homestead, several blogs, holds workshops, etc. So every bit of help I can get I do. If using a dishwasher helps me keep balance in my life, I'm okay with that especially given we collect rain for other use, don't water our gardens, use regenerative practices for growing soil, plant many trees and plants, we use as many eco friendly products as possible, grow what we can (to include are even researching growing soapwort to make our own natural soap with), and I can go on and on to speak for what I do to try to do my part. In fact, our energy provider sends an assessment of use each month and my house use has rated far below the most efficient houses in my neighborhood and even farther below the 'average household' in our city. I do appreciate your passion and concern as I share them too. Here is an article, (just one of many) I read when I made the decision on my purchase. Hopefully, this helps to ease some concern. https://www.sciencealert.com/is-it-better-to-wash-dishes-by-hand-or-dishwasher-environment-science

It IS a passion & a concern. Unapologetically. We wash dishes in one basin of cold water. 😊 Was watching Greta Thunberg last night & made me think how much the west TALKS about climate concern but has lifestyles it simply doesnt want to give up. I HAD a dishwasher for many years when I lived in Australia & am well versed in the industry funded science..

Love the lufah.

Sad you feel that way....not everyone just talks it. I'm working hard to make changes and inspire others to do the same. Here in the USA I'm considered an extremist....a minimalist....and I try to inspire others to make even small and simple changes because every single change in the right direction counts. Sad you can't appreciate that but instead choose to judge, point fingers, mock...whatever it is you are choosing to do. I can say a whole lot about the pollution in Asia....but I'm not going to lump every single household and person in that category, nor am I going to judge someone for it either. I did my research, made the best decision I could with the knowledge I have and I certainly do a ton on my part. You can feel how you feel. I will unapologetically continue to do the best I can with the knowledge and means I have and I will continue to try to inspire others, be grateful for every single change they make, uplift them, and whatever else I can because Lord knows we are all doing our best and are in it together. I might not make the same choices you do but that doesn't mean I'm not taking action or doing my part. Glad you like the luffa. Have a good night. Godspeed to you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68820.96
ETH 3915.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64