The health benefits of a plant called cassava ....

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago (edited)

Have you heard of cassava? I had not until the other day when a very good friend who is right into herbs and natural medicine big time came to visit. She is adamant that a reliable source in the form of a South African lady told her about the wonders of cassava and that it is a cancer healing plant. My friend vows and declares that only natural healing is the effective prevention and healer for her cancer, so we went off to the health food shop at Coolum to see if there was any for sale. This is what happens when one forgets to pack the medicinal stuff.

So into the car we went and yes low and behold they sold cassava powder, only costing 75 cents a gram. Armed with some we headed home and my friend added it to her water and vows and declares that it is working. This intrigued me even more so of course I had to do some research.

First of all Wikipedia was useful in learning that cassava is native to South America.
Cassava is the third-largest source of food carbohydrates in the tropics, after rice and maize.[3][4] Cassava is a major staple food in the developing world, providing a basic diet for over half a billion people.[5] It is one of the most drought-tolerant crops, capable of growing on marginal soils. Nigeria is the world's largest producer of cassava, while Thailand is the largest exporter of cassava starch.-source

I also learned that there are both sweet and bitter varieties of cassava which have anti nutrient factors that are toxic with the bitter variety have much higher levels. They must be prepared carefully because of the residual cyanide in them, they can cause cyanide poisoning, some paralysis, the growth of goiters, ataxia and even death. The farmers often choose to grow the bitter cassava plant because it keeps pests, animals and thieves away.

Much to my amazement at the right time my Fijian friend next door grows the Cassava plant which grows into a tallish shrub and after a year is chopped down to harvest the roots. She says that she makes tapioca from the cassava and says that it must be boiled and well cooked to remove toxins. It is a food that she has always eaten in Fiji. Cassava can be made into flour and is used to cook biscuits, cakes and bread.

source

My research showed that cassava flour is gluten free and a great replacement for wheat flour.

The interesting fact is that the medical scientists attest that there is not evidence of cassava healing cancer.

But, an article The Benefits of Cassavaby "Very Well Health" says otherwise. It is purported that cassava can be used as a herbal remedy and can enhance fertility when consumed as a dietary supplement. The plant is suppose to contain significant quantity of nutrients like vitamin c and calcium.

"In alternative medicine, cassava is used for a variety of conditions. Along with enhanced fertility, health claims for cassava include prevention of cancer and treatment of the following conditions:"
Arthritis
Conjunctivitis
Diarrhea
Flu
Headaches
Cassava also is purported to reduce inflammation and increase stamina.

source

source

So I have learned something new in the healing medicine category. It reinforces to me how different we all are and if my friend finds that cassava flour is helping her body deal with cancer then how good is that. There are so many treatment options available. We all have a choice, whether it is traditional medical treatment, the alternative treatments or a combination of both. It all boils down to our beliefs.

Would I just use cassava as a treatment for cancer? My choice would be a combination approach. But, I hope and pray never having to do this.

source

Cheers and blessings

Sort:  

interesting, I love hearing of things Ive never heard before-- haha, hope that makes sense. thanks for the share

Haha, yes it does @minner22. I was on a mission to find out what in the world cassava was and it was well worth my effort and time.

Hello fellow @minnerz22

Your post was upvoted with 73.77% ($0.0228) because you are an awesome member of seven77 network.

You have earn a total of $0.3102 so far. keep it up.
Together we can achieve our goal and push STEEM to the moon.


At the current time my full vote worth $0.0309 but with your help this can change.
Delegating power will increase my vote worth and your reward.
10SP, 20SP, 30SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1,000SP, 5,000SP, Custom Amount
Make sure you have at least 15 SP left on your account.


Visit s77assistant's daily report to stay informed about any news


I enjoyed reading abut this versatile plant @angiemitchell I had heard of the benefits of cassava but I didnt realize it was available as a gluten free flour. I wonder if it has a strong flavour?

I know @trudeehunter, my friend says that it tastes like talcum powder.

Thanks for sharing. Just to add some information. Did you know that in southamerica we call it yuca or mandioca. We make exquisite cheese breads with its flour called chipa. Brazilians use a powder made out of mandioca flour and they use it to flavour everything! They call it farinha.
Follow me I'll make a post a out the legend of the origin of mandioca from the guaraní natives. Bye!

Posted using Partiko Android

How very interesting. Thank you for the this, I read that cassava was known by different names but did not add it to an already busy post. I will look you up @thesteemadvocate.

Loading...

Howdy angiemitchell! This is very interesting, I don't know if I've heard of it before but it sounds like a good one to add to your arsenal of superfoods!

I agree, but I don't ever think that I could add it on to all my other superfoods, haha.

It takes alot of work just trying to make sure we are consuming a bit of all of them doesn't it? It's a part time job right there!

You are not wrong janton, I think if we stick to good veggies and protein we must be okay.

I agree and I also believe in supplementing with superfoods and other proven supplements. Like hyaluronic acid for the joints.

Yes, so right - thank you for this janton.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59483.95
ETH 2714.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50