I Can Eat My Hair Care Products, Can You?

in #naturalhaircare3 years ago (edited)

In my early 20's I had dreadlocks

FB_IMG_1632784614458.jpg

I didn't need much hair care products back then, as I would just rub them with a bar of soap now and again and tighten them about once every 3 months with a tiny crochet hook.

The pros of having dreads were:
Minimal hair care
Never needed a hair tie as they were their own hair tie
Great cat toy

FB_IMG_1632784846082.jpg

The cons were... Not being able to get rid of head lice! I did successfully get rid of nits when I first made my dreads using vinegar, but when I got them again in 2018 they didn't want to go! I was probably recontracting them from all the dirty hippies I was hanging out with 😂 After about the third vinegar wrap my scalp was exhausted! So, they had to go!

FB_IMG_1632784657313.jpg

Fast forward 3 years later and I have a wonderful head of lushious locks!

16327860597717192970692735309746.jpg

I'm all about natural health and am not keen on using chemical products on my hair or skin!
It's taken a bit of trial and error to care for my "normal" hair in a not normal way so I'll take you on a little story.

At first I was just washing my head (just with warm water) everytime I showered as it felt so good to have so much sensation on my head!

I kept doing this for a while until it got a bit longer and I could tie it up in the shower, also it was taking much time to dry...

I noticed that all this frequent washing, again only with warm water, left my hair kind of dry looking so I started re-hydrating it with coconut oil.

These days I like to leave it a week between washes to let my natural oils care for my hair. Also getting pretty good at putting it up in plats, which is a very protective hairstyle!

675817.jpg

My most recent hair care routine is to make a hair mask once every couple of weeks, comb it into my dry hair (while in the shower) and let it sit for around 15 minutes then wash it all off.

The ingredients that I've found work great for me are:
Avocado and egg
Banana and egg

I once tried using a bit of yoghurt in one of these blends, but the smell of sour milk lingered 😅

Doing these hair masks leaves my hair feeling light and fluffy, but not in a frizzy way.

One last thing I want to mention is that I ALWAYS finish my shower with a cold rinse! So good in so many ways, but that's for another post 😉

What's your natural hair care routine? Share in the comments 👇

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64076.80
ETH 3516.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64