Psilocybin Mushrooms and Depression, The Natural CuresteemCreated with Sketch.

in #naturalcures4 years ago (edited)


This Mushroom saved me from the grip of depression and more than I imagined it could. I had gone through some very hard personal issues and started to have a mental breakdown, it wasn't a very pleasant time in my life. I started to drink my problems away to cope with the mental pain, this had dire consequences on my marriage and personal life. To be honest, for the first time in my life I didn't know how to cope.

Whilst wallowing in my depression, I was talking to my friend one day he said: "Magic Mushrooms are now being used in treating PTSD and depression by micro-dosing." I was ready to try anything at that point to save myself from complete self-annihilation. So I went on a journey of educating myself and trying to understand what I wanted to do.

The first thing that I had found out was that these "Magic Mushrooms" grew in my area and that there were many different kinds and I didn't know anything about mushrooms at all, and some mushrooms can be very dangerous and deadly. I bought a book by Paul Stamets, "Psilocybin Mushrooms of the World". Then I began my research into the subject of the effects of the mushrooms and any side effects and what kind of treatment was being used and studies being done. I had found that the Johns Hopkins research being done was very promising.

In the 50's-60's psilocybin was widely studied and it was found to have positive effects on alcoholism, smoking, and other psychological disorders. In the early 1960's it was associated with the counter culture and bad press tieing the use of LSD and other psychedelic drugs to the anti-government movement, by 1966 several states made these drugs illegal, by 1970 with the passing of the Controlled Substances Act, psilocybin was placed as a schedule 1 drug with no medical value it was deemed illegal. In 2000 Johns Hopkins was granted permission to continue the study on psilocybin and have had remarkable results since then.

In 2006 a double-blind study had proven that psilocybin had significant results in treating depression, anxiety, and terminal illnesses, some people said they had lost the fear of death. Six months after treatment 80% of patients were still far less depressed and anxiety-ridden than before the treatment. They had also found that it had a profound effect on smoking cessation, almost 80% quit smoking after the treatment was over 6 months later. With positive results and the increasingly positive news coverage, opinions about the mushroom started to change.

In May of 2019 Colorado was the first state to legalize psilocybin mushrooms in the United States and other parts of the country will soon follow suit, Oregon is also debating on legalization in some forms and parts of Calfornia have also legalized its use. In many parts of the world, the magic mushroom is legal for personal use. The magic mushroom is even deeply rooted in human history and the development as a society, it's even carved on the walls of ancient temples and pyramids all over the world.

Armed with my new-found knowledge I set out to find these magic mushrooms. This alone was another journey into the world of fungi and this was a strange, almost alien world that the mushroom lives in. The mushroom is the fruiting body of mycelium and this attaches itself to other plants, grasses, and trees at a cellular level and lives symbiotically with other living organisms. It has an amazing ability to break down dead plant matter and pollutants in the soil at a molecular level also bringing nutrients to the plants that it attaches itself to. This is very strange in the natural world because the mushroom is classified between an animal and a plant, in other words, they don't know what it is.

My next step in my journey to self-healing was acquiring the mushrooms themselves, this was no easy task since there were thousands of mushrooms to choose from and the wrong choice could lead to death. Education in mushrooms and knowing where to look was the key to finding them, and it was difficult. I decided to look for one particular kind, the Azurescens Psilocybin Mushroom, because of its proximity to where I live and its potency. The mushrooms I was looking for grew around the mouth of the Columbia River, Astoria Oregon, in the dune grasses or on fallen alder branches.

After miles of hiking beautiful scenery, I had found what I was looking for. My next step was to find out how much to take and what methods were being used to consume the mushrooms. Micro dosing the mushrooms seemed to be what I was looking for, I didn't want to take a large dose of mushrooms without being around professional help and I did not want to be out of control since I had to maintain a regular life.

After researching and talking to medical professionals I had found that .5 grams a day every other day for 30 days was a good place to start. Day one I had already noticed a change in my outlook, I smiled for the first time in a long time and felt good. By day10 I felt amazing, I was dealing with my problems instead of hiding them away, I was happy, more attentive to my wife and her needs, I was able to talk about my feelings and felt good about them. I quit drinking and had no desire to drink again. Day 30, I felt like a new person, invincible to the world and its problems, no more depression, no more alcohol, my marriage has blossomed and my wife tells me that I am the man she once married, not this negative, resentful, ugly hurting person I once was, I am kinder, caring, attentive, loving and happy.

The results have been remarkable and life-changing for me and my marriage but I do give warning that this may not be the answer for everyone and currently, the magic mushroom is still illegal federally and I am not the person to tell you what to do with your life or what you consume.

My personal opinion is" Mushrooms make better people and this is a natural cure, that builds new neurological pathways in your brain that allows you to see life from a different perspective, allowing you to overcome problems and barriers in your life, connecting you to the beautiful life you have."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57956.22
ETH 3126.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45