The magic ALL NATURAL JELLY in Taiwan. I can't believe this thing exists!

in #natural6 years ago

Everyone (Nah, not really) knows Boba Tea as it's quite famous but hey, have you heard about 'Ai Yu'??

The mysterious Taiwanese Dessert..

I am currently traveling in Taiwan. I got to the country like a week ago and been trying many different type of food from street food to restaurants. The first day exploring Taipei, Taiwan, a Taiwanese friend and I went to Elephant Mountain. At the bottom of the mountain, there's this place selling bowls of something. Something clear and a bit yellowish. Something liquidy and you could slurp it right off the bowls.

I was wondering 'What's that?' I asked a Taiwanese friend.
'How to explain.. it's like a jelly you see..'

I thought it was a boring type kinda jelly

That was the end of the conversation so no, I didn't feel like this type of jelly was so interesting at all. It's probably something people consume when they're dehydrated after the hikes and the heat of Taipei (Oh man!).

ciq0hsenap.jpg

Pineapple and lime 'Ai Yu'

Here're the flavors we could choose and I went for pineapple one. They put some of sweeten pineapple into the bowl, the jelly, a bit of ice then little bit of shredded lime peel.

l6f64912p4.jpg

3m5d06he1a.jpg

That was actually something called 'Ai Yu' .. Like a jelly, super duper soft jelly..

Ai Yu is way cooler than I thought!

When we went to one of Taiwanese night markets in Taipei, I walked pass this drink vendor and got caught up by this weird looking fruit.. Exactly like this..

dzzngc5sh3.jpg

Oops, didn't take a photo of it so.. Source


It's actually soooooo new to me. I had never seen it elsewhere before so I was curious.. 'What's this?' and @catwomanteresa was actually the one that answered me..

'It's a fruit that you can just squeeze it and the jelly came out..'

Whoa!! That made it a bit more interesting but still, not the right answer as I found out from another Taiwanese friend I met the day after.

How to make a natural jelly from Ai Yu

She told me that we could peel it's skin off and use the seeds (the white little things look pretty much like white sesame.. Wow what an imagination I have here! LOL). Put all the seeds in the cotton cloth and wash it in water till the water turns a bit yellowish and sticky.. Leave it for half an hour, there you have it! NATURAL JELLY from Ai Yu!!!

Here's the video I found on Youtube that I enjoyed watching it till the end. (Yes! I was that interested that I searched how to make it :D )



Oh! Ai Yu, you're so light and refreshing

This is the one from the shop at the night market.. (40NT$ = 1.30 USD)
They usually mix it with lime juice and black sugar syrup.. so just reading this, you probably can feel that it's soooooo refreshing.

Because of Taiwan's HEAT and HUMIDITY.. People could go crazy easily with the weather but wait..

"a cup of Ai Yu would for sure cool you down and lower the risk of you going insane.. really.."


ex5stgzo3g.jpg

q7lnubfwzq.jpg

I sure became addicted. At least, when I'm still here in Taiwan.. A cup of Ai Yu a day, keep insanity away.. Boo!

Try it when you got a chance!



Lots of lots of love,
Mo ❤


https://steemit.com/@waybeyondpadthai
https://www.waybeyondpadthai.com

banner.png


We would love to talk to you ! Come say Hi ! on Fundition Discord server | eSteem Discord server

@waybeyondpadthai on Steemit | Fundition Angel
Join a community where you could spread the love**
steemitf.pngtwitterf.pngyoutubef.pngfacebookf.pnginstaf.pngdiscordf.png

It's almost STEEM FEST 3! Consider using my referal links for.. CHEAP FLIGHTS | INEXPENSIVE PLACES TO STAY | OH YEAH!




FOUND THIS TAIWANESE DESSERT SO INTERESTING AND REFRESHING?

RESTEEEEEM!!!! XOXO

Sort:  

I had this before. Kind of like it.
Did doctor explain to you Ai Yu (the Chinese characters) means what?

No he didn't but I'm sure you will!

Ai Yu 爱玉is actually 2 Chinese character and the first one means Love and the second means jade.
I know it comes from some kind of plant which they called 爱玉籽 same first 2 Chinese characters but the plant sometimes also just referred to as 爱玉. Incidentally, they have a short Wiki description page
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ficus_pumila_var._awkeotsang
but the Chinese is one more comprehensive (AKA more words, boring)
https://zh.wikipedia.org/zh-tw/%E6%84%9B%E7%8E%89%E5%AD%90

Ficus pumila var. awkeotsang
Ficus pumila var. awkeotsang is a member of the fig family and a variety of Ficus pumila. The plant is sometimes grown in close proximity to Betel nut palms thus providing a tall trunk, which the fig uses as a support to climb.

#deep ! Love jade.. Jade love.. doesn't make sense to me though.. 🙄

Still I don't know how the Chinese name come about.:-)

Jelly on the plate. Jelly on the plate. wibble wobble wibble wobble jelly on the plate.
NeatQuestionableAdamsstaghornedbeetle-small.gif

Did you read the post Adude!!!?? it IS soooooo interesting!!! 😭

Of course I did. I always do. ;)

Good for you , really. LOLOLOL 😂

I love that stuff! It's the best on hot summer days. I don't think I will ever make it myself, haha. So much easier to buy it. Enjoy!

I LOVE IT too ka P' Angie! I would totally make it myself. It sounds soooo fun! ❤️

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=waybeyondpadthai
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-magic-all-natural-jelly-in-taiwan-i-can-t-believe-this-thing-exists-f8dccac6a50e7est


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

it was amazing my friend.
I am new in here please help me and upvote me.

Interesting food, it's definitely good and healthy:)

I think so too. So loving it!

ok..ok :) I hope there warm day ... here small rain :))

Hahaha! You finally understand how the jelly comes out. Excuse me for my poor English that I can't explain very well.

Posted using Partiko Android
from @catwomanteresa meow

Heyyyy no worries at all for the language part. You're actually the one got me all interested!!! ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49