Raw-Feeding, part 2. Here's what I do:

in #natural6 years ago


I am back with an update post about raw feeding my pets!


This is coming after my last post where I briefly mentioned that I have switched from unhealthy kibble and canned food to a species-appropriate RAW food for my cats and dog, and couldn't be happier with that decision.


P1050941.jpg

The reasons for raw feeding are many. You can, and probably will, experience a dramatic increase in the health of your pets. Things such as cleaner teeth and fresher breath, shinier, fuller fur coat, increased energy, weight loss in overweight pets, increased vitality and disease-resistance, to name a few.

Now, this is not designed to be a how-to guide on feeding raw. I am fairly new to this myself, and besides that, there are many ways to raw feed, with passionate advocates of each. Basically, you are trying to mimic the natural diet your pet would have in 'the wild'. They were designed as predators and will thrive on this type of food.

P1060994.jpg

A raw diet needs to consist of muscle meat, organs, and bone material.

There are people who feed whole-prey, but if I did this, my cats and dog would be dragging carcasses around my house and that is super gross. Not to mention, unsanitary. There are ways around this, I'm sure, like crating the animal at feeding time, but for me, feeding prepared raw is the way to go.


 
P1060982.jpg

There are pre-made raw diets available, but I cannot really comment on these, since I have never purchased them. They tend to be quite expensive. It is a good option, though, for someone wanting to try out a raw diet on their pets without committing to chopping up a pile of meat.

I generally shop for whatever is the least expensive. I frequently find chicken gizzards, liver, and feet on clearance, and use them. I chop the chicken feed up into small pieces to prevent my pets from dragging them around and chewing on them in a corner somewhere. The chicken feet provide bone material to chew on and digest for clean teeth and ample minerals.

P1060980.jpg

Liver is abundant in iron, among other things. I use chicken and beef liver, whatever is cheapest. Gizzards are 'working muscles', which are high in taurine, which is especially important for cats. Hearts are also great in this way. Besides this, I generally look for discounted meat.

P1060986.jpg

Pork is fine, as well as chicken, beef, and anything else you find that is inexpensive or discounted. I also frequently use ground turkey that I can find very cheap. Obviously, the better quality meat you purchase, the better for your pet, but if you are like me, you need to find a balance between quality and price.

Many people like to ask local butchers and hunters to save unwanted parts of animals, or freezer-burned meat for them. This is a good way to find cheap, or even free additions to your pets' diet

Raw eggs are also a great supplement. I often feed these scrambled slightly with diatomaceous earth mixed in for anti-parasitic properties. If you have a flock of chickens, they can help you immensely in your quest to feed raw, both with eggs and chicken meat. Obviously, home-grown meat is much healthier.

P1000344.jpg

There are many schools of thought regarding raw feeding. I would recommend doing some research if you are seriously considering making the switch. Some people think whole-prey is the only way to go. Some people say dogs need veggies, some say they are harmful. Personally, I add some vegetable matter a few times a week. Some blueberries, some alfalfa sprouts, some leftover broccoli, whatever is available. Cats, however, do not need or do well on vegetable matter.

Basically, I chop up my selection of meat. I like to prepare several containers at once, and freeze what doesn't get used right away. A container may contain chopped pork and chicken, chicken feet, beef liver, and a chicken bone or two. Things like skin and fat are beneficial, as are other organs like kidneys, lungs, testicles, brains, etc. I strive to provide variety, and add different items from different animals in each batch.

Whatever you choose, make sure you provide a balanced diet for your pets. There are many guides online as to sample mixtures. Yes, persnickety pets can be difficult to convince that this raw chunk of meat is actually much BETTER than the crunchy kibble he is used to eating. With some persistence, though, they transition over nicely and end up loving the raw even better than the junk food.



DSC04032.jpg


Thanks for reading! Hopefully this answered some of the questions that you may have had. I hope this inspires you to research and consider switching your pets over to a healthy, raw diet! ♥



page-break-1024x256.png


Badge comp.png

Creative Commons License
This work by @SquishySquid is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

This is very interesting information! I need to do some reading and think hard about re-vamping our cats' diets.

Absolutely! The more I learn, the more I find out everyday things I take for granted, such as bagged cat food, are actually pretty bad! I definitely suggest doing some reading and research. You will be surprised the countless people who have switched to raw and have had their pets' chronic health issues cleared up. :D

My wife @homesteadhippy feeds both of our dogs a raw diet. One of the dogs was really old and whimpered so much because of joint pain we thought it would be more humane to put her down. After about 6 weeks of the raw diet she is still slow but she gets around much better and she no longer whimpers. i was amazed at the improvment.

It IS amazing!! Thanks for sharing your experience! I think if more people knew about this, so many pets out there would be much healthier! ♥

I commend for trying this raw food diet.

I was quite hesitant to try it, but Im glad I did. It took a 2-3 weeks before the cats were really on board with the idea, but now they love it and gobble up all their food in a short amount of time. I was worried about sanitation as well, but the cats and dog are pretty clean themselves, and I just make sure to clean their feeding area well, and it's all good.
:D
The best part is the litterbox. They poop less often, and the turds are dry and dont really smell. SO much better than the stinky litterbox we had with the commercial diet. They are better able to use the nutrients with much less waste passing through.

Good to know.

Im wondering if it would be possible to do both, raw and kibble. I live far from town and dont often go as I please. Thus making my grocery bill for a family of 5 to be around 300+ for 2 weeks worth. So if I can add some raw to the kibble that would be much easier on the wallet. But thinking that may cause problems to their stomachs? Like you said, doing research would be wise.

I have heard people say that is an awful idea, and others who say that is fine, and at least better than all kibble.
Personally, I think adding raw to kibble would be fine; that's how you get them started anyway. Lots of people do this.
I have found raw feeding to be less expensive than I thought it would be. Not as cheap as buying the cheapest kibble, but around the cost of feeding a higher quality food. For example, I can get a pound of ground turkey for under $2, which is also about the price of a can of dog food or large can of cat food. Similar cost for the same amount of food. Of course, ground turkey by itself is not a complete diet, but it can be part of the raw diet, and it is not expensive. I like to stock up when I find meat on clearance and put it in the freezer too. :)

Ya, so if you can send those prices this way, that would be great. :D I would never be able to find a pound of ground turkey for only $2. I would probably be more like $7 here. And the cans of dog food for the amount to feed a large dog would be around $3 or more. I think I may try it though and go the way some people do as you stated. Going to the local butcher shop would be my best bet I think. Thank you for the insights :)

Ouch!! Well, I agree, that is crazy expensive!
One other thing you can try, if the butcher shop is also pricey, is during hunting season, ask hunters for meat they dont want. Things like liver, kidneys,bones, heart, etc, they may give away.

Oh that's a great idea! My husband may be going hunting in October too! There is hope :p

This article Has some good information, explaining why it is risky to mix both kinds, and how you can make it safer. :)

Awesome! Thank you for helping out. Our animals are our family. Taking care of them not only with just playing, bathing and all that but with proper food is also just as important.

Congratulations @squishysquid! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61248.96
ETH 2375.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55