Self Care Sunday - DIY Lip Scrub

in #natural7 years ago

Last weekend I started my Self Care Sunday series. My goal is to help the Steemit community take a moment for themselves with healthy, natural DIYs! If you missed my previous post about my go-to pore cleaning strip recipe check it out here: http://bit.ly/2CFUnPR

IMG_1434.jpg

Today I'll be showing you another one of my favorite all-natural self-care concoctions, lip scrub! The weather is freezing and dry which causes chapped skin and lips. This DIY will help slough off the dead skin revealing a polished pout. You likely have everything you'll need right in your kitchen so let's get started.

The awesome thing about this DIY is that it can be as complex or as simple as you like! The scrub will work beautifully with just sugar and oil. I love swapping out ingredients and changing the recipe week to week.

Ingredients
3 Tbsp Sugar
1 Tbsp Coconut Oil
4 Drops Almond Extract (optional)
1 drop Essential Oil (optional)
1 Vitamin E Capsule (optional)

The sugar to oil ratio depends on how large your container is. The trick is to make sure the sugar is well saturated.

Step 1 I prefer a finer texture so I like to start by grinding down my sugar until it's less coarse. This is just my preference, but it is in no way mandatory.

IMG_1463.jpg

Step 2 Toss your sugar into a clean jar or whatever you prefer to store it in.

Step 3 Mix in Vitamin E, Almond Extract, and Coconut Oil. Be sure to combine your ingredients well.

IMG_1468.jpg

IMG_1474.jpg

IMG_1475.jpg

Step 4 Gently scrub your lips and lick or wipe away the excess. Enjoy your freshly scrubbed lippes.

Note - I decided to omit the essential oil, I was really feeling the almond scent. Yum!

IMG_1492.GIF

Be creative and swap out ingredients. These are a few I've played with in the past:

Brown Sugar
Olive Oil or Avocado Oil
Peppermint or Vanilla Extract

IMG_1484.jpg

I hope you've enjoyed the DIY, I love sharing my natural self-care tips! Please be sure to let me know if you plan to try the recipe or if you want to see more Self Care Sunday posts like this one.

IMG_1443.jpg

As always I appreciate you spending time with me today. I would also like to give a warm welcome to my new followers! I hope you have a fantastic rest of your day and I look forward to seeing you tomorrow.

Did you miss my last post? Catch up here https://steemit.com/@shoogie and don't forget to give that "Upvote" button some love!

Sort:  

Thank you for contributing your knowledge to help others! Sotall.org Knowledge Directory of Steemit Posts has linked to this post. You can see your link here.

You are so welcome. I appreciate you coming by and leaving a comment! Thank you for linking the post, I really want others to benefit from these tips and tricks. Have a wonderful day @fernowl13

Welcome to steemit! If you are ever looking for a group, actually a community, of homesteaders/gardeners/self-sufficient like-minded people, I am the moderator of a group here... also the "un"official ambassador to the group.
let me know and I can post an invite link here for you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66338.04
ETH 3306.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69