Physalis decorative and edible

in #natural6 years ago

These bright lanterns on the photo are an ornamental plant Physalis. I saw in the city. Grew around the trunks of pines. For the first time I encountered such a way of decorating under the crown of trees. Although I had seen many of them before, but already in a torn-down house in vases. Orange lanterns and in a dried form retain this color and look very beautiful. They have fruits, but they cannot be eaten, as they are poisonous.

But I have physalis vegetable edible

These fruits were raised by our relatives. They grow vegetables, fruits, berries. Very fond of physalis. Always planted with a margin. We are also treated.

Honestly, I do not understand particularly the taste of Physalis, so that I admire them. For me, it is something between a vegetable and a berry. Vegetable Physalis also ripens in the shell, but it is faded compared to the decorative. Under the shell are fruits similar in shape, glossy skin to tomatoes. After washing the fruits of Physalis under water, a slight stickiness is felt on the hands, as if they were smeared with a cream that was not completely absorbed. Although dry fruits do not give such a feeling to the touch.

In the fruits of Physalis "fleshy" pulp with small seeds. Very slightly taste reminds tomato. But quite remotely. The taste is slightly sweet. The aroma is more inherent in the berry, but mild.

Physalis matures in autumn. I used to grow Physalis, a strawberry variety, too. It was a long time ago. Physalis can be grown both through seedlings, and immediately planted with seeds in open ground, but when the soil warms up well. Physalis loves sunny places.

In the food we eat Physalis only fresh. Add to salads or just eat separately. I read that jams are made from them, but I have not tried and do not want to. I think that I do not understand the taste of such a delicacy.

Sort:  

Yes, it is a great fruit. We grow the small edible variety. I like them also because they are so pretty when dried:

Beautiful photo!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62928.79
ETH 2465.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55