Benefits of Okra to your natural hair

in #natural6 years ago (edited)

Source

You thought okra was just for eating alone right?
You can also use it for your hair, it sounds yucky right? Lol, I know that feeling. I had it the first time I used it. Well, It's wonderful, it gives your hair this shiny and soft feeling. For y'all natural sisters and brothers too who complain about your hair being stubborn and hard to comb and style, this is for you. It's a cheap and easy DIY. Okra contains potassium, folic acid, vitamin c and calcium. It is a great moisturiser and leave in conditioner. The cheapest leave in conditioner which has no side effect! It stimulates hair growth and is good for all hair type. It can also be used as hair gel. Okra gel can be used for defining your curls and fighting frizz. It also possess great anti bacterial properties.

Source

The steps involved in making the okra gel are as follows;

  1. Get 6-8 okra pods (depending on how much hair you have, I personally use 12. My mane is thick) and wash them carefully.

  2. Cut the okra pods into bits and put in a pot of boiling water to cook. It isn't necessary you stir it.

  3. When the okra has cooked, allow it to cool and pour the gel into a bowl or plastic container and add any essential oil of your choice. I use just olive oil, it works wonders for me.

And you are done! Store in you refrigerator to allow it thicken and use as much as you like. There are many other diy recipes I have which I would share in subsequent posts. Non naturalistas can use this too.

What other DIYs do you use for your hair or skin?
Feel free to share with me.

Sort:  

Wow! This is so cool! we grew a lot of okra on the farm in Kauai - i loved the beautiful flowers

I never knew okra could be this fascinating too, I absolutely hated them while growing up, now, they are my favorite veggies! I've never seen an okra farm though , it should be amazing seeing one! Thank you for reading 😄

The picture is nice . Is that you?

No, thank you for reading and leaving a comment 😁

You got a 0.80% upvote from @upme requested by: @beingnonye.
Send at least 2.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66101.68
ETH 3023.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71