Tire-Pounding for Beginners

in #natural-building7 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Tire-Pounding for Beginners


Since the Steem blockchain became a centralized, top-down dominated place, where control and censorship thrive, I have decided to move my content. Don't worry, though, all my posts and up and doing well on the decentralized Hive blockchain. Come and check it out!

Sort:  

I will have to echo some of your other comments here... Wow! Sound like a tough job but what a great way to repurpose those tires. resteemed

It sure is tough, which makes it fun... for a while. As for the tires, I coulnd't think of a better way myself.

Very interesting logistics in building a tire wall! With the cardboard, it will eventually degrade, this doesn't cause problems in the long run? Since the dirt would eventually fall through the bottom? Is there a lot of dirt that gets put in between tires not just inside of them?

Ah, you're already a step further, @farmstead, hehehe, in the realm of packout. And yes, you're absolutely right: in the back the whole wall leans onto the berm of dirt, and in the front the spaces between are packed out with concrete (containing cans, bottles, and other garbage). Once it's covered, you won't even see the tires.
And yes, the cardboard will degrade eventually, but by that time the sheer mass of the wall will keep itself together. Plus, where would the dirt go, if there is more of it all around the tire? So no worries there. But thanks for your great questions. Makes me realize how much more there is that I haven't even touched upon...

Hahah you're welcome! I guess! Haha I Don't meant to trudge ahead in your storyline! Haha, at least I give you fuel for your fire! Hahah.

Ah that makes sense now, that you say the front is contained... ish. With concrete and other materials. This sort of wall building is a great way to "hide"/"reuse" those materials that may not always get a re-use, like the garbage you mention.

I must admit I didn't realise there was so much 'tech' to building a tire wall.

Oh yeah, those Earthshippers have brought it up to a whole new level...!

nice tutorial on tire pounding @stortebeker. i'll have to check out your other posts on here!

i lived in taos, nm and lived in an earthship for a while-- such amazing creations!! blessings.

Thanks for the comment, @mountainjewel! Yes, Earthships are among my great passions too, and this year will be marked by them (for me) for sure.

I am interested in Earthships. My land is a flat as a pancake so we would need to construct a berm first...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76