You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Natural Building: A 13th Century Castle, Still in Construction

in #natural-building6 years ago

I used to live in the Loire Valley where chateaus are aplenty and I didn't know anything about Guédelon! It seems to be close enough to the river, too. Love the idea and I'll be curious to find out if there are any advantages of only using 13th century techniques and if it's not more sustainable to weigh which is the best option at the intersection of the old and new.

Good to see wattle and daub gaining more popularity.

Great post!

Sort:  

Yea that would be an interesting thing to know, though I have a feeling the building techniques or maybe the materials, are more sustainable than today's.

It's beautiful country la Loire. I'm curious to know what brought you there. There an area in france Le Pays Cathare, the castles there are truly amazing. Most of them are purched high on top of some very steep mountain peak.

Check that out sometime if you're still in france and you can park a van or small motorhome where you wish, its a great place to camp and hike too!

Thank you

I'm a Tourangelle :) I did my master in Tours and truly consider it one of my homes. I left France about 2 years ago although I keep going back to Tours to see my friends and visit the guinguette. I did the Loire à Vélo between Tours and Nantes one summer so I got to see some of the nicest chateaux of the Loire.

I'm not in France anymore, at the moment I live in Seoul but I'm definitely putting this on my list for whenever I go back next!

Excellent! I never bicycled that much, not for days on end like that but I'm sure it is very rewarding and relaxing. It must have been a very beautiful trip.

Seoul must be interesting?

The Loire à vélo was one of the best experiences of my life. You should definitely give it a go if you have the opportunity!

Seoul is a whole new world of interesting. Planning on writing about it soon!

Oh cool, see that was why I used to like facebook. We could exchange stories and photos from around the world and keep in touch with all the friends I made traveling the planet!

Here on Steemit, the direction we seem to take is on the right track to stay genuine. Being decentralized helps with that I guess too... can't wait to see your post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57019.68
ETH 2888.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61