You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NATIONAL TARTAN DAY – NATIONALDAYS CHALLENGE

in #nationaldays6 years ago

Well, me too except it was many generations ago! From http://www.latta.org/Articles/whats_in.htm:
"It is thought that all the Lattas in America are descendants of this William Latta, baron of Scotland. The Lattas lived in Scotland from about 1066 AD on. Even to this day there are many living there, mostly on the west coast in Ayrshire."

"FamilySearch.org shows 698 people with the name Latta in the US Census of 1850"
My branch arrived, one of three brothers who are responsible for most of the Lattas in the US to this day.

Sort:  

That’s very interesting. It’s not a very common name. The only Latta I have heard of was a famous Scottish footballer from the 19th century! I have not met anyone with the surname, as it appears to be concentrated in the south and I am from the north. In Scotland, there is still the tendency for families to be in the same area for generations. Your link doesn’t work for me, by the way!

Ah well, it satisfied cheetah... lol! I bumped into a Latta at my husband's work Christmas party one year. I never got the chance to talk with him (it was a huge party) but my husband and I both were stunned... he could have been my brother. We have long said that "stubborn" was a family trait, but it seems even our genetics themselves are stubborn!

What would Cheetah have to do with links? I tried copying and pasting it. It's still a link that does not work. Maybe you have private sign-in access to it?

cheetah calls out plagiarism, so an un-sourced quote can get you a visit from the bot. Try this one:
http://www.latta.org/Articles/whats_in.htm

Haha! I know what Cheetah does, but Cheetah doesn't comment on links. That's what I meant. LOL! Yes, this link works now. Thanks. I'll read it later.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58617.29
ETH 3164.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44