Introduction to Sleep...

in #narcolepsy6 years ago

Sleep...

Sleep is a captivating and relentlessly demanding mistress, dancing every moment, just on the edge of my consciousness. She's always with me, breathlessly anticipating her moment in the spotlight; when she can once again draw me back into the deep folds of her embrace.

Since the moment of my first breath, our relationship has been complex. She whispered lucid dreams into my ears as a child. She eluded me for many years growing up as we performed her stage play "Insomnia". And finally, she cast me in the lifetime role of her partner in her masterpiece: "Narcolepsy".

In the face of the inevitability of our union, I chose to get to know her, understand her and finally... befriend her. Yes, sharing a life with her makes things a little more "interesting" and unpredictable. Yet I believe that the adventure of life has many colours and contours for every individual. Tinting my life with sleeps hue is simply part of my journey. It does not need to be negative. With a little understanding and the right supporting cast, a life with a sleep condition can be just as fulfilling as any other.

My husband is an amazing companion and together we navigate the eccentricities of life with narcolepsy. We patiently explore the maze of symptoms and find ways to appreciate the alterations to lifestyle. We've learnt to breathe and become willing to adapt to improvisation. We've even come to humorously enjoy some of the changes and consequences of our reality. I would like to share some of our experiences here, to help you understand what life with a sleep condition is like, and to hopefully bring a smile to your face while doing so.

Sincerely..
Nekoleptic

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57889.68
ETH 2457.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40