Divorcing a narcissist - real estate

Hi all

I haven't posted in a while about this topic. because I am trying to heal emotionally, but I need to get some things off my chest.

Last night we had an excellent offer on the family home from some potential buyers. I accepted the offer but my ex refused to sign, and it appears the deal is now fallen through. You see she is currently occupying the house, and is making my life extremely difficult, by forcing me to pay the mortgage while she lives for free. The home sale would be a huge burden relief for me and she is weaponizing it right now.

stoplies.jpg

source

She is making unrealistic demands, and is emotionally battering me through emails, and through the real estate deal I am trying to make. The realtor is very frustrated as well, and I spoken to them, to advise that from now on all contact will be through my lawyer. They are understanding with me and I feel like they are doing the best they can, but it is difficult for everyone involved, even realtors, dealing with a covert narcissist.

Last night after she chose to not accept the offer, she sent me an abusive email, and I know, I should block her, change my email, etc. So what am I to do. A court ordered no-contact seems like the right way to go, possibly cutting all funding to her, and possibly foreclosing on the mortgage? I am trying to get a legal separation agreement in place, but she is refusing financial disclosure.

Bad times my friends.

Sort:  

Oh man. What a cluster. Foreclosing seems like a bad idea. The impact of that will last long term. Hopefully the lawyers can find a way to get her out of there or force her to buy you out if she won’t leave.

Hang in there. Maybe there are divorce support groups on line where people who have made it through similar obstacles can give useful advice.

Thanks Dfinn, I spoke to the realtor again, and she called my wife back. hopefully things are in motion. She said she was going to try to convince her to sign the deal, because its the best offer we are likely to get.

Real estate is stressful enough, even in normal life, let alone dealing with a psychopathic person.

Congratulations @narcissism-help! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 10 posts. Your next target is to reach 20 posts.
You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @narcissism-help! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ - Meet the Steemians Contest
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59608.09
ETH 2475.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46