Is the NAP Valid?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #nap8 years ago (edited)

My argument with most people claiming to love liberty is the definition of "harm". They usually believe that THEY can determine what harm is for anyone else and that it is always objective. i disagree.

Unless the fathers of philosophy, psychiatry, and psychology are all wrong, those believing such lies are also way wrong. Words hold the very key to life and death. Words are powerful and they have actual meaning. Unless real science like the Milgram experiments are also wrong, these "lovers of liberty and truth" are also way wrong. People are EASILY influenced by words because they hold real power to influence thoughts and actions.

If words are so meaningless in your belief system, tell me genius, why do advertisers spend millions trying to influence you with words? Because words hold the very power of life and death!

Ever heard this phrase? "The pen is mightier than the sword." I bet you do not believe that to be true. It is.

Every fight you have ever seen or known about likely started with mere words. When you tell your child you love them, are they mere words to you? When you tell your enemies you hate their behavior are those mere words also?

Words can be full of love and life. They can also be full of hate and death. When words are neutral, they hold little power and are usually only informational in nature. This is why people curse. They are correct that when they add their emotions to their words, their words then have significantly more power behind them.

What people have failed to realize is the fact that love conquers all and that words of love are the most powerful. Those gravitating towards the dark side would do well to remember their side is already defeated.

Sort:  

//My argument with most people claiming to love liberty is the definition of "harm". They usually believe that THEY can determine what harm is for anyone else and that it is always objective. i disagree.//

I don't believe that I can determine what harm is for anyone else, I can only determine what "harm" means to me.
I.m.h.o. that is the purpose of the NAP to get you thinking for yourself and determining words for yourself. It's not a dogma or law it's a principle which may be observed and reacted upon in "reality" however flawed and subjective that may be.

What is left if I can't determine what is right.
In that others determine for me that I can't determine the word or action 'harm' for myself.
That if I get attacked, raped, stolen from or someone is trying to murder me (what I see as harm) I must question myself if I'm right about defending myself because, me calling those actions harm, is (to others) subjective and therefore may be incorrect?

Are words of love not also subjective, what may sound like words of love may as well be words of manipulation, how can someone tell the difference if not by judging the action and naming that action a certain way?

One last question about the title; Is the NAP valid?

What is valid, and does it even matter what others think is valid?
I as an individual think that all I have to do is look at the deeds of myself and someone else, what words are attached to the deeds do not matter.
I have to make up my own mind. In the most literal sense of that sentence.
And a sentence it is.

Words ALWAYS matter. if you ever come to believe this fact, you will be making progress towards truth.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64856.09
ETH 3426.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56