You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NaNotes #5 - The Short Goodbye

in #nanotes7 years ago

welp, looks like I've got some reading to catch up on!

50k words....that's insane! I can only imagine how much sleep you lost over this :) Congrats though, hopefully the win makes all the sleepless nights feel worth it ;)

Sort:  

Well, I didn't post all of the 50k words here. Yet. Haha! It is insane. What's more insane is that it has become a yearly tradition. It remains to be seen if was worth it, but the accomplishment is always welcome. I sacrificed a lot to reach the goal, and I don't want to underplay that. It was a lot of hard work indeed! Catch up on your leisure, buddy :D

I'm currently finishing up War and Peace, but it looks like I have next great novel already lined up....

War and Peace!? Man, that's such a tough one to follow! That is, in terms of the length and the quality. If I was a novel, I don't ever want to be in that unlucky follow's shoes... oy vey...

It is such a good book, I almost hesitate to call it a novel - even Tolstoy said he doesn't consider it a novel but more of a philosophical work, which makes sense after reading most of it. The book really makes you think and it seems he really tries to drive home the point of "what it means to be human."

A novel it is not. More like a sprawling epic! I do get how it could be viewed as a philosophical work though. The great ones are always thought provoking after all. That point is something I often try to tackle with my own stories. I often write character that live perpetually in the gray area, that's why I have fun exploring the humanity question.

yeah that is a great place to go (the grey area); it makes sure the work isn't "cookie cutter" and the same old same old.

Oh you can trust that I won't ever make something that looks like it was manufactured from a factory line. If I would, you would definitely read it as an ironic parody haha!

that's good to know! I can't stand cookie cutter stories; which is why I can't watch most tv series - just follow the same formula all season long...boring

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67633.57
ETH 2605.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71