Nanomancer Creative Writing Competition Entry

in #nanomancer7 years ago

One Bridge Of A Day


Source

So, the other day I happened upon this awesome world that @benjojo has created and collaborated on with other Steemians. As I read over the Nanomancer's story and the lore of his world, an idea for a little scene popped into my head. The following is a tale I created of an unexpected encounter. It's 662 words and my first ever fantasy short story composition and contest entry! I also had a ton of fun writing it, so thank you @benjojo for coming up with such a cool contest and amazing world to play around in!


Nanomancer: One Bridge Of A Day: Part One Of A Goblin's Tale


“By Marr! The bridge is out again!”

“Calm yourself, Biovorus,” came a reply from the taller of the two travelers, “Just mend the bridge so we can be on our way.”

“Of course you would say that, always the logical one you are, Annimattus.” grumbled the smaller goblin.

Annimattus Boggrim had already turned away and was studying the raging torrent that was Vrykast Falls. His mind wandered, as it often did, pondering what the Falls looked like before. One thousand years of war with the Nanomancer had left the water changed.

His musing was interrupted by a clicking sound. His friend always clicked his teeth when he deployed his bots. At only two feet in height, Biovorus Legorgol was small even for his kind, but his skill with the Oppressor's technology was formidable. Billions of nanobots began detaching themselves from Biorvorus' chestnut-colored skin. The diminutive goblin's teeth clicked in a faster rhythm, as using Gethyra's energy to power their programming, he sent forth his minions.

Moments later, the clicking stopped, and the swinging bridge that straddled the ravine beneath the Falls was once again whole. Biovorus strode onto the bridge and barked,

“Annimattus! You don't have time right now to be one with the landscape! We got a mission.”

The slate blue goblin sighed and stepped onto the bridge. As he did a roar familiar to them both echoed throughout the ravine. Both of the goblins took off running toward the noise, for it was the cry of another creature that drew their interest.

“What in Marr's name is that kid doing?” Biovorus screeched, “It ought to be skele-stripped for teasing a baarothe.”

“I don't think it's teasing the beast,” Annimatus mused, “I think the child is being pursued by it.”

“Why doesn't it deploy its tech? It's just cruelty to tease the baarothe that way.” Biovorus grumbled.

Before Biovorus could consider the situation further, he became aware that his friend had disappeared from his side. So great was Annimatus' speed that it looked like he was gliding next to the charging baarothe, the goblin's liquid black hair floated like a cloud behind him as he placed his long, clawed hand onto the pursuing beast's head. The giant creature stopped in its tracks and began emitting a high pitched keening sound. Biovorus smiled to himself as he watched the great baarothe bump Annimatus affectionately with its head.

His levity quickly evaporated as he turned toward the instigator of the baarothe's rage. As his anger rose, his bot armor detached from his form and began to swirl around him like a vortex. A young humanoid girl was staring back at him defiantly, her eyes as dark as Gethyra's war torn sky.

“Teasing a primitive creature is a horrid thing to do,” he barked, “You'll be coming with us to the Gathering to answer to your kind!”

Proclamation delivered, teeth clacking, he sent forth his bots to restrain the girl. At that moment Attimattus strode up and gasped as his friend went down on one leg. As soon as Biovorus' nanobots touched the girl they froze and plummeted to the ground.

“Hold on my friend!” Annimattus shouted, and called forth vines to his aid. A living cage soon surrounded the young creature. The raven hair girl then reached out her hand and touched a vine bar. Annimattus suddenly clutched his midsection as the entire cage withered and collapsed onto the planet's surface in a cloud of elemental dust.

Both goblins stared at the defiant girl, panting in amazement.

“What are you?” Biovorus grunted.

“No.” the girl muttered softly in return as she turned and walked away through the ruined forest.

“She has to go with us to the Gathering.” Annimatus uttered.

“Tell me something I don't know.” Biovorus barked in return.

The two goblins regarded each other in befuddlement, for just how they were going to get this girl-anomaly to travel with them was a problem that needed a solution in a hurry.

To be continued...


So, this is a quick sketch I made of Annimattus. I am not an artist by any means, but still wanted to share!

IMG_7955.JPG


And as always, unless otherwise cited, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's fanciful iPhone.


Sort:  

Congratulations @generikat! This was such an amazing contest. I loved reading everyone's entries. Definitely going to check out your other work! Cheers!

Oh my! @nexusfyre! I have to tell you, I read your entry out loud to my family after you posted it and loudly proclaimed, "This story's the winner, no contest!" Your writing is amazing! Congratulations!

I truly enjoyed everyone's entries, and I had no idea there was such a cool community of fiction writers. I, too, am looking forward to checking out your work!

Thank you for stopping by!

Wow, thanks @generikat! That is very kind of you. I never imagined it would be family fiction reading material. That certainly makes me smile! Cheers!

Great hook with the girl! Who is she? What is her power? Drew me in completely!

That makes me so happy! I have an idea of where the story is going to travel, and that girl plays heavily into it! I promise to reveal more as the story progresses, I just need to actually be home to write it first, lol! Thanks again!

so great ,thanks for sharing with us

Thank you, and you are most welcome!!

woahh what an art

That is so kind of you to say, thank you!

Upvoted and resteemed, but just because I can't be bothered to write a critique twice as long as your post at this hour.

I am both elated and slightly terrified by this comment...😆

Thank ye!

nice art upvoted

Thank you!!

@generikat,
I like your writing skills and the topic that you have chosen to write it! Hope you can win the competition.

Cheers~

Thank you @theguruaisa! It was a pretty fun endeavor to tackle! Hope you are having a fantastic day!

now these are real writing skills pretty impressive wonderful art too completely an all rounder post

Awe, thank you so much! I had a really good time composing the story and sketch! I used to draw all the time as a kid but haven't much in the last couple decades. Might have to give it a go more often😊

Nice post with goid artcle and wonderful artwork by @generikat
I think your arkwork skill is execellent sir...I respect it..
Really nice and creative drawing....I think it is pencil art...
W
E
L
D
O
N
E
My dear friend @generikat
Happy steeming...
Cheers!..

Hello there again! Thank you so much for such an excellent comment, and considering that this was the first pencil sketch that I have made in about 20 years, I am feeling much gratitude!

Happy steeming to you too my friend!

Wow

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37