You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: .STEEM domains with SteemDNS Web UI and Mirror Domain (EASY TO USE)

in #namecoin8 years ago

As a community, we really have to find a way to build projects like these without requiring a user's the active key. It's not that I don't trust you, it's that I don't trust anyone with my active key. I'd still like to be able to use services like these though.

Maybe we could kick off a discussion to allow the posting key to update our profile information, even if to start it's just the json_metadata field?

Either way, I love how this is progressing. I don't personally have a use for it at the moment, but it's got a lot of potential. Keep up the awesome work!

Sort:  

Completely understandable. Unfortunately the json_metadata does require the active key. It's better than the master password at the least.

Of course my project is fully open source, and uses very simple JS that you could look through and audit in a day or two max. It uses a copy of SteemJS from SVK, with no modifications so you can verify the hash.

To top it off, you'll notice that it's a static HTML page, no backend, and that it doesn't communicate with my websocket server, instead it uses Steemit's (I would use steem.ws but Steemit's WS is so much faster, and I'm already using so many resources for my witness/seed I don't feel like setting up my own RPC server).

Absolutely, like I said, it's not that I don't trust you - I just may not be trusting in the fact that my active key is now flying through the internet somewhere heh.

I'm posing it the idea in hopes that we'll be able to come up with a solution to these worries :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58130.32
ETH 2361.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38