My Namecoin evaluation experience using MeteorJS

in #namecoin7 years ago (edited)

This week I got to know about namecoin and got quite excited about its idea and possibilities. (see:

) Me myself, I work as a mostly nomadic living IT-consultant between Europe and Asia. Sometimes I call myself an independent fullstack web and mobile developer.

I'd like to write about my experiences with namecoin, while I am thinking on:

  1. using it as a decentralized DNS for some of my domains
  2. saving encrypted information inside the namecoin blockchain for a possible other project

Here is how it went:

  1. Installation

  2. Communicating with the blockchain via RPC

    • I setup a project with MeteorJS meteor create meteor-namecoinand added the namecoin npm package meteor npm add namcoin
    • replaced the correct username and password in the provided example code
    • executed client.getInfo(function(err,result) {console.log(result);});(see namecoin API doc) successfully and other things:
    • 25.12.2017 Here is my example project on Github https://github.com/inspiraluna/meteor-namecoin
  3. Registering a .bit domain name

    • first of all you need some NMC which I tried to buy on bisq.network. Great fantastic decentralized exchange, but no success since bitcoin is too expensive for sending it around for some technology tests right now.
    • somebody send me some namecoin on a paper wallet. I imported the private key with MeteorJS through namecoin rpc with: (let the namecoin blockchain download completely otherwise you might receive an error here)
    client.importPrivKey('privatekeyfrompaperwallet', 'paperwallet', true, function(err, result) {
    if (err) return console.log(err);
    console.log('importPrivKey:', result);
    });
    
  4. Setting up a decentralized DNS

  5. Writing into the namecoin blockchain using

  6. Stumble stones (26.12.2017)

  • added the transaction back to the wallet which got accepted this time with the new namecoind
Sort:  
Loading...

Congratulations @inspiraluna! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

apart from decentralized: are DNS-requests also encrypted and/or cryptographically signed?

I'd say that this is generally possible, since the DNS protocol is still the same.
But I didn't check the DNS-resolver yet, neither I have experiences with SEC-DNS yet. But I'll try to post an update on that as soon I found some time.

IMHO, on the other hand: If there is a namecoin blockchain on your machine or in your network running DNS-SEC is not necessary since the requests go directly to the local blockchain.

Seems like this is a bit of an abandoned project. I guess there are still people mining this blockchain since they are still traded.

Yes, I think the website needs some urgent update. They are calling for help I think since its an open source project. Namecoin itself is still actively being developed as you can see here: https://github.com/namecoin/namecoin-core

Also they have been doing different presentations at the worlds biggest (?!) Hacker Conferences of the Chaos Computer Club in Germany (#34c) two weeks ago. https://www.namecoin.org/2018/01/03/34c3-summary.html

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61119.19
ETH 2615.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65