DNS via STEEM

in #namecoin8 years ago (edited)


Since steem provides support for arbitrary data to be attached to every account, it should be trivial for a savvy developer to port tools used by namecoin and similar projects to Steem.

Once these tools are in place, your steem account name could be used as a domain name for your own website.

I am sure whoever is the first to produce a quality set of tools to perform DNS lookups using Steem account metadata will get a flood of upvotes.

Just throwing an idea out there for those looking for money making posts!

Benefits

  • Decentralized TLS (HTTPS) certificate validation, backed by blockchain consensus.
  • Protect free-speech rights online by making the web more resistant to censorship.
  • Access websites using the .steem top-level domain.
  • Attach identity information such as GPG and OTR keys and email, Bitcoin, and Bitmessage addresses to an identity of your choice.
Sort:  

I made such a tool as a proof of concept: https://steemit.com/dns/@geoffrey/steem-blockchain-url-redirection-app but I would not classify the upvotes I received as "a flood".

Decentralized DNS (DDNS) needs to work for IoT too. Do you want me to unlock your amerikan front door with my phone for you from germany? How about I check the temp in your refrig? Check in on my kids' babycam? See how fast my wife is driving?

Bitshares (the Graphene blockchain) would work well for this. Just fork it to a new graphene chain and call the new chain DDNS:

imagine:
ddns:land.kencode.office.printer.queue("QUANTITY") or..
ddns:land.kencode.home.kitchen.oven("CURRENT_TEMP") or..
ddns:www.kencode or..
ddns:www.kencode.contactus or..
ddns:www.kencode.projects or..
ddns:mail.kencode or...
ddns:call.kencode

When I brought this up in April of last year, there was not much interest:
https://bitsharestalk.org/index.php/topic,15461.0/all.html

I am very happy to see interest in DDNS percolating again, let's hash out some ideas here and git'r done :)

@dantheman: how about buying the .steem gtld domain extension, mapping domains xxx.steem to @xxx account pages on Steemit, and allowing each account to set DNS records for sub-domains of their own .steem domain?
Last I checked buying a gtld costs about 180k USD, and then 10k yearly, not that much considering the daily amount of rewards issued for content and curation.

I like this idea, but I think that @dan may be headed down the road of independent DNS registrations, outside of "regular old DNS".....

Which frees us from ICANN.

....WHICH ROCKS.

Nothing prevents having the gtld top-level DNS resolve domains using the blockchain register. Since Steemit would be owning it, they do what they want with it. The advantage of this approach is that even without specific code in the browser to intercept *.steem domain names, the request would still get resolved via the traditional DNS infrastructure, with records mapped 1:1 to that of the blockchain.

and more decentralized

Dang @dantheman
Good post! You beat me on this. I was going to start a post regarding this same idea. Albeit, not the DNS integration part but, how Steem has majority of the tools to create a decentralized website of sorts, in this blogging system.
I was going to suggest to create a web address the traditional route and just have it forward to the Steem post.
You suggesting to build into Steem a DNS function is step in the right direction IMO.
Steem... hosting blogging and private websites! Awesomeness!

Brilliant. They'd get my upvote that's for sure.

I don't know much about namecoin, so forgive me if this is a naive question: could this also be extended to MX records? Creating a translation layer that somehow allowed someone to send an email to [email protected] and have it actually route to me would be amazing.

The argument could be made that we don't even need this once private messaging is released, but being able to somehow use the email protocol would surely increase ease of adoption.

Assuming that DNS worked correctly, yes. It could allow any type of record. A, CNAME, MX, TXT etc.

One of the best things about Steemit is its innate ability to generate innovations through what I come to call "viral inspiration".

I don't think this ever happened before in the cyber world.

Good idea. Although .steem top-level domain looks a bit too long for me.

(╥﹏╥)
合并到比特股里的 KeyID 要在 Steem 里实现的意思么?!

How about .sss? (●´৺`●)

SSS is the LOGO of Steemit, also means Steem + Steem Powder + Steem Dollars , and it is so easy to remember for everyone from anywhere ( I mean from any Country of the world )!

I know we are all use to 3 letter top level domains (or shorter). But in the coming months and years, anything less than 5 or 6 characters is about to be the norm.

Hi Dan,
great idea. Do you mean utilizing the json_meta tag for attaching arbitrary data?

This might be something to fit in with http://letsencrypt.org ?

congrats on the update, user profiles look neat!
#bountyisacandybar

can somebody direct me to a post on the new reputations/user profiles? Ill keep looking but this is new since i just got home from work haha. thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66494.63
ETH 3508.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66