"Your head no correct"

in #naijapidgin6 years ago (edited)

"Your head no correct"


Source


Each time I remember this scene, different shades of thoughts come to my mind. Sometimes I feel like I should rewind the hands of time back to that scene and act my part all over again, but, greater thoughts come to mind:

  • I did not disappoint mankind
  • I did not disappoint myself
  • I did not abuse womanhood
  • I'm a man, I've grown and I've mastered my emotions to a good extent.

It was in the year 2012 at the NYSC orientation camp in Nigeria. In case you don't know, NYSC stands for National Youth Service Corps; it's a program made compulsory for all Nigerian graduates to run after graduation. It starts with a 21 days orientation and military controlled boot camping usually in a stipulated location far from the eyes of the public, family and friends.

After the 21 days boot camp, corps members are then posted to serve in various organizations and government parastatals for a cumulative duration of 12 months (the 21 days camping period inclusive).


She looked into my eyes and said "you dey craze, your head no correct"


()

GIF Source

One of the biggest events during the course of camping is the parade. We spend days, both mornings and evenings rehearsing the parade commands and moves.

Corps members are usually split into groups called 'platoons''. I was in platoon six (6), same platoon with this amazing lady; I call her amazing because I choose to be positive irrespective of her dastard act towards me. I've learnt to separate people's actions and inactions from their person, this vindicates my choice to call her amazing even though her act was despicable.

We had rehearsed our parade commands and routines for the high/last day on camp. I was saddled with the responsibility of making a couple of parade calls for my platoon. The "big" day was upon us, we must be on point in all ramifications, there was no room for mundaneness.

We had marched to a particular spot where I was to make a call for my platoon to act, I was tensed, I forgot the call I was to make, everyone was waiting for me to make the call, then I remembered after about thirty seconds. I made the call, we moved on, but, our platoon lost the parade competition.

At the close of the parade, this amazing lady walks up to me, looks into my eyes and said: "you dey craze, your head no correct"! Everyone around fastened their eyes on both of us expecting what will come up next, this lady was waiting for my response, perhaps I was going to reply or even go physical, she was prepared for me. I didn't think twice about how I would respond, I had trained by reflex/response system for such a situation. I didn't disappoint myself, I calmly shook my head and walked away from her sight. This amazing lady felt bad and disappointed.

A guy walked up to me afterwards and narrated how he would have reacted to this amazing lady, he said he would have taught her a lesson she'll never forget, then I asked him a subtle question: Do I look like a crazy person? Is the word "crazy" attached to my name? So, why then should I respond to such a statement? If had responded, then I'm crazy.

Morale.


Don't get angry when insulted. If one boxer enters the ring and there is no opponent, he will go home


I might have acted foolishly, but, I am not foolish.


Learn to separate people's acts from their person. Separate the offender from the offense. See only the positives in every situation. When you are able to do these, you have mastered your emotions.


  • N.B: "Your head no correct" is a pidgin word that literally means "Your head is not correct" in English

Regards,
@marpemusic
[MuSiCThatGodInhabits]


Social

  • Steemit
  • Youtube
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn

Request:

Keep up with @steemchurch @sc-n @sc-v @sc-m and esteemed @sirknight for soul lifting and life changing christian contents on Steemit. Join Steem Church on Discord


Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

This is what a real man looks like. Thank you for representing us well.

True that bro!
Thank you!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64063.60
ETH 2742.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67