#MyUsername | Why I’m @contrabourdon

in #myusername5 years ago (edited)

Source

A few weeks ago there was a challenge going around on Steem tagged #TheGratitudeChallenge. Whilst what I’m proposing here isn’t so much a challenge, I’m curious (and I hope other Steemians are too!) as to the origins of one’s Steem username. I think we all have something interesting to share about our username—so I’ll go first.

I’m calling this the #MyUsername post!

contrabourdon aka Contra Bourdon is a type of organ pipe. If you know me on Steem, you’ll know that I’m an organist and I participate in the weekly organ playing contest run by @organduo and @laputis. I’ve also occasionally entered in Steemit Open mic too.

The Contra Bourdon pipes denotes a low Bourdon (Flute) rank—sounding two octaves lower than written. This is also known as 32’ pitch and is most likely used in the Pedal division. Essentially, the Contra Bourdon rank adds gravitas to the sound of an organ. It kind of sounds like a gentle rumble that you can feel!

Source

So there you have it. My username is @contrabourdon because it’s my favourite stop on an organ. Coincidentally, my alt accounts @echobourdon and @contrebasse are also pipe organ stops from the same family 😅

I nominate @organduo, @partitura and @dinglehopper to create a #MyUsername post.


You can support me using Steem Basic Income

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing!

Posted using Partiko iOS

!giphy pipe organ

Posted using Partiko Android

!giphy pipe+organ
@organduo

Posted using Partiko iOS

!giphy organ
🙏

Posted using Partiko iOS

!giphy hello+there

Posted using Partiko iOS


You got a 6.24% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @contrabourdon! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58216.02
ETH 2614.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45