You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rose Velvet Cupcakes- Myturn

in #myturn6 years ago

These look awesome! Thanks for giving my recipe a whirl! I love the variations you tried out. I bet the rose water would taste amazing. Not to mention the truffle stuffing! I'm going to have to give that a spin one of these days.

I've often thought about making my own natural food color, but hubby is a stickler for his red velvet (his favorite), and can taste beet juice a mile off.

Sort:  

I'm so happy I found your post! Your recipe is firmly written into my recipe archive. They were so moist I ate a bunch of them before they even saw frosting!

I find beetroot powder has a much more muted flavour than beetroot juice, and if dissolved in vanilla vodka or bourbon the flavour is almost imperceptible, but if your hubs is ok with berries, dehydrated raspberry or even mullberry powder dissolved in vodka works a charm!

As for the rosewater, I was inspired by @goldendawne's post on substitutes for vanilla, really worth a read!

Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting, and thanks again for your marvelous recipe!

come to think of it, dehydrated red rosepetals should make a lovely powder, and shouldn't impart too much flavour . I'll try find some red or pink roses over the weekend and try it out, will let you know if it works!

Ah, that's a great idea! Yes, I'd love to know how it goes.
I'll have a look around for beetroot powder. I know I can find freeze dried berries, so if I have a hard time with the beetroot powder, I could definitely grind up my own berries. (Plus, who doesn't love an excuse to experiment in the kitchen? lol)

The powder is so easy to make! Thinly sliced beets in the microwave for 1-2 minutes until crisp, then just run them through a processor or coffee grinder. Might even work to soak the beets in vanilla before drying them out to mask their taste.

Ahh very cool! Thanks for that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62974.52
ETH 2679.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55