#MYTOP5ARTISTS Challenge

in #mytop5artists7 years ago (edited)

Very good idea to make a contest on the top 5 artists ...
@sarahart, You already know mine but more in detail and in chronological order (by way, I'm waiting your list). I wish you all the success for its realization.

Caravaggio

The_Cardsharps.jpg
Cardsharps, 1594-1595
Oil on canvas, 91 × 128 cm
Kimbell Art Museum, US

Trickery and illusion. Stylistically, take as a model a prostitute to paint the Virgin, a lot of courage at that time (he paid for it). He paints real life.

El Greco

Laocoon.jpg
Laocoon, 1610-1614
Oil on canvas, 137 x 172 cm.
National Gallery of Art, Washington
First the subject, say the truth but nobody listen and be punished. Stylistically, it's exactly what he said

I paint because the spirits whisper madly inside my head

Lurid color, elongated lines, illogically conceived space are perfect to represent doom. Timeless.

Goya

Deux Hommes Luttant.jpg
Duelo a garrotazos, 1820-1823
Mural painting on canvas, 125 x 261 cm
Prado, Madrid

I like a lot of Goya paintings like Los Caprichos but this one tells everything. Why continue to fight to death? The two wrestlers sink into the quicksand but continue the fight. So dark.

Odilon Redon

venus.jpg
La Naissance de Vénus, circa 1910 (I think it's 1912, but I want to finish with Duchamp)
Oil on canvas, 143 x 62 cm
MoMa, New-York

For his imagination (you have to see his engravings). And this painting, a little bit of color and love in this list. :-)

Marcel Duchamp

Nude Descending a Staircase (No 1).jpeg
Nude Descending a Staircase (No. 1), 1911
Oil on cardboard on panel, 96 x 60 cm
Philadelphia Museum of Art

Evidently, he defined modern art... Nothing more to say.

Sort:  

ok already I vote. do not forget to vote back

Thanks for your vote...

Actually, I got the idea for this contest from you! Specifacally because I seem to have a problem with choosing between so many great artists, so I decided to ask other people and see if they can choose!

Duchamp: "Evidently, he defined modern art... Nothing more to say." I couldn't agree more!

Great post! I like the way you organized it chronically. Well done! (:

Hello, you received an upvote from @steemdunk thanks to @heroldius! Steem Dunk is an automated curation platform that is easy and free for use by everyone. Need an instant boost? Send 0.200 SBD with your full post url as the memo to @steemdunk for an upvote. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57807.79
ETH 2287.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47