You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dionysus/Bacchus: An Introduction

in #mythology7 years ago

Looking good! As another fan of Dionysus, I look forward to reading more of your posts. I've spent more time studying his origin as it pertains to Bronze Age Crete, the Minoans, and his form as Zagreus. I'm interested in the parallels you draw between Dionysus and Bacchus, since I honestly haven't looked into his Roman counterpart much.

Sort:  

I would love to learn more about that part of his origins as I have hardly heard of Zagreus, and I have done a lot of research. Any good internet sources you know of?

There are some interesting parallels, Id like to do a post on that as well. They are pretty similar in a lot of ways, but really different too. I think I need to research more to clear up some of the distinctions before I make a post however.

Unfortunately, no I don't know any good online sources. I used to blog on the topic, but that was a few years ago and I don't trust my memory or ability to academically site stuff as much as I used to.

If you ever have the chance to check out Kerenyi's book on Dionysos, though, it's AMAZING. Beautifully written, and split between the more Minoan Zagreus, and Greek Dionysus. It's probably my favorite book, ever.

I'd like to start writing about this topic again some day, but like you need to clear some stuff up first. :)

sweet, ill look for the book. The research never ends :P

I just googled Zagreus, and its very interesting. Gives more meaning to Dionysus' imortality and twice born quality, though I wonder if he could be considered thrice born.

I could definitely see that. He can be a difficult figure to keep up with, since he seems to have jumped around a lot geographically. I vaguely remember reading something about his ties to Hinduism, even!

yeah he is sort of like wine in that way haha, it grows everywhere differently. It is basically impossible to actually understand the diversity of wine, or of Dionysus.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59049.70
ETH 2618.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44