The Monomyth and Joyce

in #myth7 years ago

Who am I?

Desire nothing and you will not feel pain. That’s the teaching of Buddha. Or someone, I don’t know.

When I wrote my first blog on here I was criticized for writing in a “disjointed” manner. Then I edited the grammar mistakes and now I think it’s fine. Sure, I’m no stylist (yet), but I do make a majority of my money writing things. And that criticism stung.

I used to hide my birthday (year) on Facebook because I was ashamed about how little I’ve accomplished in my life. I’ve done a lot of things, but who am I? Def not Elon Musk.

I did not, however, hide the date. Send those birthday congratulations! I made it another year! But send them in July.

Anyone read Joseph Campbell? How about Robert Heinlein?

Maybe they’re related. Maybe not.

There once was a dog named Steve. He hiked with a girl named “Blaise” on the Appalachian Trail. I got drunk and played him the song “They Call me Steve” by the Teenage Bottle Rockets for Steve. He was a full-sized short dog. “I’ll dig a hole to hell and back for you!” he might say. He’d protect us from the creepers in the forest. Steve was a good dog.

My daughter became a vegetarian this year.

Sometimes people need to tether themselves to something in order to build. Sometimes that tether needs to be severed in order to build.

They say DaVinci was a good author because he mastered tradition before they innovated. Revolutions shift the tradition our children will have to master before making their own innovations. Or maybe there is not innovation, just a recombination of everything we already know.

It’s best to read this while smoking weed.

I didn’t write it while smoking weed.

Don’t trust someone refined in the art of casual trash-talking with your reputation. Who cares.

I’m reading Joseph Campbell. As soon as I stop writing....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60078.84
ETH 3197.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45