The ole ID-10t error

in #mytechlife92983 years ago

The ole ID-10t error

I've worked in tech support for 20 years, but for the last 10 I've been teaching architecture and 3D modeling as well as running tech at a school. The thing you need to know about teachers is that generally they are unwilling to learn.... well anything.

So I carpool with the general computing teacher, and the co-teacher is a bit older and is a self-professed "idiot" when it comes to computers - and they ain't lying. I mean, we're talking Mackeeper, Chromium, Yahoo Safesearch, the whole lot of annoying (and avoidable) computer things.

One day they are complaining that her computer "doesn't work" any more and they need some help. I asked, did you restart recently? "yes this morning!" So I have her swing by my office. Google wouldn't load, drive, docs nothing. So I see chrome needs an update (as well as noticing all the aforementioned garbage). Took a look at the chrome version. 85. This person hadn't restarted chrome since like *August*, at the beginning of the school year. I updated it via the glaring red update button, restarted her computer, boom everything works fine.

"OH THANK YOU SO MUCH! What was the problem?"

"Oh nothing serious, you just had the ole ID-10t error, happens all the time. Let me know if you need any more help!"

Believe people when they tell you about themselves. And never believe them when they tell you they've restarted.## TLDR Summary:

I've worked in tech support for 20 years, but for the last 10 I've been teaching architecture and 3D modeling as well as running tech at a school. I updated it via the glaring red update button, restarted her computer, boom everything works fine. The thing you need to know about teachers is that generally they are unwilling to learn.... well anything. So I see chrome needs an update (as well as noticing all the aforementioned garbage). This person hadn't restarted chrome since like *August*, at the beginning of the school year. One day they are complaining that her computer "doesn't work" any more and they need some help. I mean, we're talking Mackeeper, Chromium, Yahoo Safesearch, the whole lot of annoying (and avoidable) computer things.

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62659.86
ETH 2534.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63