Remember where you saved your file

in #mytechlife59163 years ago

Remember where you saved your file

So this happened years ago when I was a "consultant" in one of the computer labs at the local university (that's what all the student workers in the labs were called). It was finals week and I was working the shift in one of the specialized Macintosh Computer Labs, this was after Steve Jobs came back and I believe the switch to Intel processors was pretty recent as we did have a few PPC machines still in the labs. Anyway as it was finals week and we were pretty hopping with everyone trying to get their projects done. In comes $EndUser in tears as she approaches the desk.

$EndUser: Please you have got to help me! I can't find my final paper! I know I saved it but I just can't find it after I closed out of Word I can't find it, can you help me?!?!?

$Me: Sure i'll take a look, if you could boot up the machine and log in for me.

From there I quickly go do her home directory and sort by last modified.

$Me: When were you working on it?

$EndUser: Uh yesterday about 9pm

I then pulled highlighted the file and ask her to open it to confirm. Sure enough it was and she was overjoyed that all her work was not lost. My boss who was over all the Mac Labs told me she actually emailed her directly to thank me for my assistance. Some days I do miss those lab days even it is just to be able to actually assist someone directly like that.## TLDR Summary:

Some days I do miss those lab days even it is just to be able to actually assist someone directly like that. Anyway as it was finals week and we were pretty hopping with everyone trying to get their projects done. My boss who was over all the Mac Labs told me she actually emailed her directly to thank me for my assistance. I know I saved it but I just can't find it after I closed out of Word I can't find it, can you help me?!?!? From there I quickly go do her home directory and sort by last modified. $EndUser: Uh yesterday about 9pm

I then pulled highlighted the file and ask her to open it to confirm. $Me: Sure i'll take a look, if you could boot up the machine and log in for me.

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63152.69
ETH 3233.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.45