Unicorns do exist

in #mytechlife21763 years ago

Unicorns do exist

Y’all.

I support a K12 SIS, so I have a lot of users with a lot of different needs. One of the big problems we have is that some folks who get a little knowledge fuck things up by using their partial knowledge to not ask when they get in over their heads.

Today one of our lovely summer school chairs sent me an email: some kids registered for summer school didn’t get charged the fee. She sent me an example too (yes! An example student!!). I looked at the super secret screen I wrote that helps fix basic problems. Nope it looks like the kid wasn’t registered in the fee-assigning way. I conferred with our trainer...what do we think about giving Ashley access. Can we trust her?

Note: This screen is fluid. I wrote it because I was sick of going into the DB to write SQL to do repeatable shit. But every year there has been a new scary that has pissed me off so I adjust the screen and I’m the only one who knows how to use it.

(I know I know. One of these days things will be stable.)

Trainer concurred: Ashley is good. She follows directions. She also stops when things don’t go as planned. All I needed to hear.

We hopped on a Google meet and showed her the steps. She presented and showed us she was good with our directions. We were very clear. This screen was an override. It works, but it’s not guaranteed to work if you go off script. You cool? She was cool.

25 kids needed to be changed. She got through 24 and one fired an error. Instead of trying to fix that issue on her own, she stopped, emailed me, and asked if I could look at his record.

DREAM BOAT.## TLDR Summary:

Today one of our lovely summer school chairs sent me an email: some kids registered for summer school didn’t get charged the fee. I looked at the super secret screen I wrote that helps fix basic problems. Instead of trying to fix that issue on her own, she stopped, emailed me, and asked if I could look at his record. I support a K12 SIS, so I have a lot of users with a lot of different needs. One of these days things will be stable.) She also stops when things don’t go as planned. She presented and showed us she was good with our directions.

Sort:  

SUBSCRIBE
#StockPhotos
https://steemit.com/trending/hive-109286
The best place to share your free to use stock photos and earn STEEM, SBD & TRX.
Your post is rewarded and we support every member of the community!

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65916.61
ETH 3431.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66