Localised Public Address fault

in #mytechlife14833 years ago

Localised Public Address fault

Travel with me back through the mists of time to a younger, gentler age...

...Oops, too far...

Set year to 1995. Mobile phones were around but resembled house bricks and were decidedly not smart.

Working in Building Maintenance was a Younger, Healthier, Handsomer me.

The Facilities helpdesk assistant passes on a call, the Building manager is asking why no one has fixed the Public Address system (Henceforth PA) fault yet.

We look around, confused, "What PA system fault?".

"He says there's an intermittant beep..."

Well, maybe it's just his floor, not the entire building, so off I trot to find the boss of bosses, our ultimate client.

Arriving at his floor and heading to his office I listen intently for any intermittent beep... Either it's really widely spaced or the problems solved itself.

Arriving at the Bosses domain, I knock and when approved enter.

The Boss is irritated, "will no one rid me of this incessant noise!"

My protestations of ignorance are heeded, the boss magnaminously explains that he can hear a noise everywhere he goes within the building.

Once more I listen and indeed, now even I can perceive an infrequent faint chirping noise.

I turn my head on the side, one ear pointed to the heavens, the other to the floor. Another Chirp, from there!

I point excitedly at his desk drawer. Together we inspect the contents, a calculator, some pens, a ruler, nothing of note. The calculator Chirps.

Revelation! 'Tis not a calculator but instead a personal organiser, clinging desperately to life as it's battery fails, calling for help in the only way it knows how. Medical attention was rendered, slightly delayed by the need to visit the nearest shop to aquire suitable batteries.

Exit hero, stage left.

Tl;dr: foolish knave, I'll not pander to your whim! If thou desirest to know the secrets hidden within this treatise thy shall have to suffer the reading of it.## TLDR Summary:

"He says there's an intermittant beep..."

Well, maybe it's just his floor, not the entire building, so off I trot to find the boss of bosses, our ultimate client. The Facilities helpdesk assistant passes on a call, the Building manager is asking why no one has fixed the Public Address system (Henceforth PA) fault yet. My protestations of ignorance are heeded, the boss magnaminously explains that he can hear a noise everywhere he goes within the building. 'Tis not a calculator but instead a personal organiser, clinging desperately to life as it's battery fails, calling for help in the only way it knows how. I turn my head on the side, one ear pointed to the heavens, the other to the floor. If thou desirest to know the secrets hidden within this treatise thy shall have to suffer the reading of it. Arriving at his floor and heading to his office I listen intently for any intermittent beep...

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.036
BTC 66992.58
ETH 3460.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.68