Story Time

in #mystory-contest6 years ago (edited)

My story about how I've got into photography as a hobbyist

In December 2009, I have quit my job. The first week, I was browsing the internet a lot figuring out what I would like to do next! I found many sites where you sell your photography. I thought to myself, I can surely do that! How hard can it be! I just need a proper photo camera and my images would look just as good as those on photo stock websites.

So I have got myself a beginner's DSLR - Sony Alpha A230, which, by the way, I am shooting with even today! The first attempts were flowers and I have been also shooting everything with the flash in auto-mode.

The thing about the DSLR - you have got all these buttons and settings, it is a real science! So I went online to search for some advice and help! I found it in a face of a Scott Kelby and his wonderful books! They opened up my horizon to a whole new world of photography!

I began to experiment more with the aperture, shutter and program mode. Subscribed to the Digital Photo magazine and found that my free photo editing software is very basic and if I really like to learn about the photography I have to learn using the same software as the tutorials. However, programmes such as Photoshop and Lightroom are quite expensive for those just wishing to learn. So, I stayed with my basic editing for a while.


At that time, there was a lot of free time and I was travelling around and it was fun.
I have never submitted anything for the photo stock, but it was still fun!



Then two years later I have applied for the university (journey just finished in autumn) and found a job to fund it and photography was pushed to the side. The things got even staler when I got pregnant and gave birth to my long waited child!

The life of someone whose child suffers from colics is tough and I have heard a lot of stories! However, I have never imagined it to be this hard! I stopped taking images of my child after the first month because I was in a deep battle with the reality! I was exhausted and not at all prepared for what life has thrown at me.

This stage lasted until now really. My little one is already three and has become an independent individual and my studies have finished. One day, I was watching a video of someone I follow on youtube and that person has shared a story about Steemit. I have decided to join the blockchain with little to no knowledge and was really like a lost person for a week. That is until I found photo contests and remembered that I really like photography!

Since then I have won in some photo contests and have had honourable mentions. I have received feedback. And it gives you strength and motivation to do more and learn more! Because with the photography, there is no end - you learn all the time!















All images are my own!


© Rimicane

Sort:  

У Вас великолепные фотографии! Не устаю любоваться красотой, запечатленной Вами

Спасибо, стараюсь! 📷

Photos are really perfect

i love to take pictures
But you really are wonderfully beautiful photos

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @rimicane to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33