Let's be clear. My rules for flagging posts.

in #myrules8 years ago (edited)


User @beanz posed some important questions in
My Vote My Rules - Whales! Set the Rules before Penalising Abuse

To which they suggested users post their personal rules for flagging posts. It's fair and good to know ahead of time what risks earning a flag from each and every user. Perhaps some day we'll have a bit of a consensus on what merits the all-important, never-welcomed flag.

I've used markup to show deletions and additions to the originally proposed text by @beanz

Hello steemit users. This post is a declaration of the content which I, as a curator deem worthy of flags. This list is subject to change whenever I deem necessary. My vote is my own to use as appropriate and as I set these rules myself they are mine to break when necessary. That said it's your prerogative to point out my hypocrisy should I flag for reasons other than outlined below. The purpose of this post is to help the community to avoid being penalised for something I deem worthy of a penalty.


Content I do not support includes


1. spam
2. plagiarism
3. witch hunts
4. trolling
5. misinformation as has been debunked by multiple well-researched sources


Please educate yourself on the definitions of the above and have a great day.


Furthermore there is certain behavior which I will not flag out of hand yet may issue forth a plea in the comments for correction, addendum or explanation. These are:


1. failing to give image credits
2. reposting of your previous material
3. copy/paste of your own authored materials from an external source


These infractions are of much more minor concern and will not be flagged unless pleas in the comments are left unaddressed.

I invite your feedback. Please reference this post if you wish to dispute any of my actions.
Image credit wikimedia


I am,

The Everyday Geek on Steemit
EGOS.live

Sort:  

I liked your article. Helps you like mine ♥ @siams

Rules...always rules.
The free spirits and the pioneers run away from the rules, make something, have a brief period of freedom, do well. That attracts the rule makers. "we didn't do it this way where I came from". So they make rules.

You have a point. However, these are rules I wish to hold myself accountable to.

Anarchy is about governing yourself is it not? These aren't the rules I wish to impose on others, it's the conduct I expect of myself in the face of things which in my opinion don't elevate the platform.

If you would like to make the case that spam and plagiarism are expressions of freedom I will make the counter-case that flagging those posts is an equal expression of freedom.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64512.59
ETH 3174.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85