FLORA AND FAUNA OF NORTH LAKES. My Picture Day.

in #mypictureday7 years ago

Thank you @timsaid for hosting MyPictureDay Challenge Round #20

This is my submission.

North Lakes is one of my, "Go To' places close to where I live. And when I want to be at one with nature, to wind down, take a few deep breaths and absorb Australian flora and fauna in its natural habitat, this is where I go. North Lakes is situated approximately 26 km north of Brisbane, Queensland, Australia but it is much closer for me to visit from my place in Scarborough. North Lakes originally developed around one of the focal points in the area; the golf course. Houses, public parks, cafes, children's playgrounds and walking tracks have since been built around Lake Eden which is home to many waterbirds and wildlife.

wmNorthlakes.png

I usually start my walk on one side of the lake and make my way around the circumference taking images of the wonderful variety of flora and fauna. When I mentioned to my husband a couple of days ago that I wanted to visit the lake he was amazed because it wasn't that long ago that I'd been up there. He said, "Haven't you taken photos of every single flower, bird and animal in the area already?" I just smiled and told him that no matter how many times I walk around the lake there is always something new and interesting to capture.

wmNorthLakes3.png

The boardwalk takes me to a path which leads to all manner of bird and animal life as they go about their business in this beautiful environment. A Welcome Swallow perches on one of the railings and watches me as I slowly approach him for a photo. He is very kind and stays still while I take a couple of shots. He is used to people coming and going along this path.

wmfinch 1.png

As I move into a grassy area adjacent to the lake, an Eastern Water Dragon rushes past me when he hears my footsteps. But instead of moving away, he comes directly up to me and pretends he is not there by standing completely still. He looks at me trying to decide if I am friend or foe. While he's deciding, I move my camera into position and take a shot. I am amused at the twigs and dried leaves that are still attached to him after his hasty exit from the undergrowth nearby.

rs ew dragon.jpg

My new dragon friend decides that I am no threat to him and saunters off looking for a more fun loving companion.

rs EWD.jpg

I come to a swampy area where I spot a family of geese in the distance.

wm geese.png

I see dragon flies and hear the sound of frogs in the lily pond but they are too quick for me. It is not the right time of the year for the pink water lilies to bloom. It is a pity as they do bring a picturesque quality to this scene when they are in flower. There were a few mauve coloured lilies to add a little colour to the distinctive green lily pads, so I shouldn't complain about that should I?

WM LILY POND.jpg

Ducks share their habitat with darter birds and swans but the ducks were no where to be seen on this particular day. A darter bird stood on a large stone enjoying the sun on his back. I love it when they spread their wings out wide to dry.

wm little darter.png

I pause to gaze across the lakes and admire the view. Purple swamp hens swim amongst the lily pads.

wmLakereflectionsO.png

Purple swamp hens are everywhere and most of them will let me get quite close to them. These rail birds have a quirky habit of flicking their tails up and down which reveals their white feathers underneath. They are very good swimmers but spend most of their time wading through swamps.

wm swamp hen.png

wmwamphenjpg.png

There are a lot of banksia bushes around the lake. The flowers are spiky and cylindrical and there are many species found throughout Australia. This flower is obviously past its prime but is still a thing of beauty as it rests against its wide glossy leaves.

wmBanksia.png

Yellow wild flowers thrive in this environment and in Queensland's sub tropical climate. They look a little spindly on their bushes but individually they are very pretty.

I cannot resist peering through the trees to capture glimpses of the lake in between the gaps.

wm Nth thru trees.png

wmlakeglimpses.png

I'm sure you'll agree with me that it was worth while stopping to take these pictures.

At one end of the lake there is a viewing platform. I pause for a rest and take in the beauty before me.

wm Nth Lakes .png

I walk on until I come to another path after crossing a bridge.

wm nature walk.png

Further along I see a wonderful splash of purple radiating from a series of tibouchina bushes.

wm tibu .png

The afternoon sun highlights their beauty.

wmTibou flowers.png

Around the next bend, two black swans pull vegetation from the lake and enjoy each others company. These swans are native to Australia and last spring I had the pleasure of watching two fluffy cygnets swimming near their parents and mimicking their actions when feeding from the lake. I wonder if these two were the siblings I saw a few months ago?

wmblack swan.png

wm swan drinking.png

It doesn't matter in what direction I point my camera...........nature is at its finest as I complete my stroll around North Lakes.

wmNth Lakes.png

I took many photos and found it difficult to choose which ones to include in this, 'My Picture Day' challenge.

wmLakeScene.png

But I will leave you with this final image which was one of my favourite scenes. Nature lays a purple carpet over the swamp. Tree silhouettes cast soft reflections upon the still water and as the sun goes down, shadows fall across this small corner of the lake leaving lasting impressions of beauty, serenity and peace.

Nature's carpet jpg.jpg

I hope you enjoyed walking with me around this lovely lake. Every time I leave this tranquil place I know I will be back, because this is my special place. I may be a casual resident but I don't mind at all, in sharing it with all the fabulous flora and fauna that reside here each and every day.

Thank you for walking with me through this enchanting oasis.

All photos are captured and edited by myself (@trudeehunter) I used a Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ70 Camera.

qurator gif.gif

Sort:  

I can see why you choose to go there, it looks like a lovely place to recharge.

Very true @debralee The flora is much the same although the flowers differ according to the seasons but the birdlife changes as they are rarely captured in exactly the same place or in in the same posture. I really appreciate your visit and support.


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Amazing pictures @trudeehunter! I can imagine it was tough to choose what pics to put😄 what a great place for a walk and to feel nature! 😚🤗

Thanks very much @cooknbake It was hard to choose which pics to include but think I managed to post a good variety of flora and fauna.

Amazing post and beautiful photos!

Thank you kindly @mhm-philipines I'm glad you enjoyed this post.

Hello, what a beautiful ride, the catches are awesome happy Thursday beautiful

Thank you my dear friend. Sorry for the late reply @txatxy I'm on holiday at the moment and have limited internet access. I hope your week is going well. xoxo

Wow! So many amazing photographs! I do love that you have a specific style with that focus and vignette. It is always great to capture the beauty of animals on camera <3 Thank you for sharing

Many thanks for your wonderful comments and support @poetrybyjeremy Much appreciated.

What a beautiful peaceful place. Love all the birds and animals you captured on your picture day Trudee, @trudeehunter

Thanks so much Joanne. I am very fortunate to live near this lovely lake.

Those are some fun critters to see! I love the dragon. We really don't have such exotic looking animals around where I live. Beavers, ducks, and black snakes is about it. I really love lily ponds. The lily pads and the water always seem so peaceful and pretty.

Thank you for your fabulous comments @marxrab It is very interesting to see the different animals around the world isn't it? Nature provides us with so much to enjoy.

Absolutely stunning photos. What a wonderful place to go to. I can see why you would want to go and recharge. I do love your husband's comment:
"Haven't you taken photos of every single flower, bird and animal in the area already?"
It seems that there are always more picture to take and more to see.

Thanks so much for your welcome visit and comments @carey-page My husband is very supportive of my photography hobby and loves what my camera and I produce but can't get as excited as me when it comes to re-visiting favourite photography haunts. If he comes with me he usually brings something interesting to read while he waits.

That is wonderful that your husband is supportive. Have a fantastic day.

It is wonderful @carey-page I'm very fortunate. Thank you.

Fabulous post and I enjoyed it immensely! I can see why you like to return here. It's a very interesting and beautiful place between the plants, birds, etc. It was especially interesting to see the black swans and all of the different birds that live there!

Thanks very much for your lovely comments @violetmed I have photos of the black swans very cute cygnets from a visit last Spring, and will post them at some stage. It certainly is a great place to spend some quality time surrounded by beautiful nature.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66882.49
ETH 2597.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71