Ice on Lake Michigan PHOTO GALLERY - MyPictureDay Challenge, Round #16 Submission #4

in #mypictureday6 years ago (edited)

Michigan has a reputation of a boring state. However, having lived here for a few years of my adult life, I can assure you that that is not the case. Yes, other parts of the US have stunning landforms that make for great touristic spots. But (1) I believe that each place has its beauty, so it’s worth exploring places less known, and (2) Michigan actually has beauty to enjoy!

One thing I really love about this state is the seasons. We get spring, fall, winter, and summer, and each season provides new opportunities for photographers. Evidently, with so much coastline, one of the best things to photograph in Michigan is water. From beautiful lake coast to numerous lighthouses, to lush green in spring and summer, superb fall foliage, and the lovely waterfalls of the Upper Peninsula captivating year-round, this is a place not to be so easily scraped off from your travel list!

I have the privilege of living within driving distance from the beach on Lake Michigan, and I often go there to see how the season has changed the landscape. I never cease to be surprised: almost every single time I visit the beach it looks so different, sometimes even days apart. For example, this past Monday I went to Silver Beach for photography and I took these photos. Sun is rare in winter in Michigan, so whenever we get it, I try to find time to go out. A few days later, the sun has melted most of the snow, and the landscape now looks completely different around town and at the beach. I like that, because even the same spot can provide new photographic experiences, and simply new life experiences.

So I guess this post was a short introduction to Michigan and some of the photo opportunities it provides. If you have a chance to even just drive through by the shore, I think you’ll find something to enjoy! For now, here are a few pictures of recent ice on Lake Michigan. I hope it gives you an idea of what it’s like here in winter!

These images have been taken at Lake Michigan on February 12 with Canon 70D + 18-55 and 55-200 mm lenses. Click on the photos to see large.

IMG_2489 (1).jpg

IMG_2722.jpg

IMG_2351.jpg

IMG_2001.jpg

IMG_2403.jpg

IMG_2011 SDL.jpg

IMG_2148.jpg

IMG_2230.jpg

IMG_1040 (1).jpg

IMG_2769.jpg

Sort:  

These are some stunning photos! Yes i agree photographing opportunities lie everywhere. In Estonia we have pretty much the same situation than you in michigan. We dont have any unusual landforms or otherworldly views but we are fortunate enough to have all 4 seasons and hundreds of miles coastline
and i love it.

Thank you! The seasons do offer plenty of photo op, and it never gets boring, does it? Thanks for the comment!

Exactly, it never gets boring. I think as long as you love photographing and enjoy doing it, there is no way to get tired of it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57292.40
ETH 3073.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32