MyPictureDay entry - best winter photo trip so far.

in #mypictureday6 years ago (edited)

Lake Jonsvatnet (middle Norway) is one of my favourite photo spot in the area of my living - just a few km and i am by the shores of really big lake, crystal clear waters, many smaller and bigger islands, different shore lines - many photographic possibilities every season.

Few days before I was on the lake - walking slowly on a mirror-like ice, transparent like a glass, still freezing creating beautiful sounds in a far. Then some strong winds came - part of a really big hurricane, almost 3 days I didn't went out home. After that I decided to take a short drive by the lake, to check the ice thickness and skate possibility. What I saw on the place was... a big surprise.

IMG_9957nolog.jpg
Left click on the image to view in Full Screen mode!

Wind crushed the ice on almost whole surface of the lake and than, probably with big help of waves - moved the ice-floes to the northern shores, where I was. The view was amazing! Freezing air already made all the crushed ice strong again so it was safe to walk among them and shooting - I didn't expect that but as always I had my camera with me.

IMG_0644nolog.jpg
Left click on the image to view in Full Screen mode!

First of all I started to shoot area around me, looking for some ice motives for my panoramic photos, it wasn't hard, because hundreds of them were all around me.

IMG_0690nolog.jpg
Left click on the image to view in Full Screen mode!

Than, when the ligh was still strong enough, I changed my lens to zoom 24-105mm and with macro rong attached - starting to shoot amazing patterns inside the ice floes.

IMG_0277nologo.jpg
Left click on the image to view in Full Screen mode!

When the sun goes down, finally beautiful sunset appear - like a great award after already great day!

IMG_0092nolog.jpg
Left click on the image to view in Full Screen mode!

I waited to the end catching the last light, colours and amazing patterns on ice.

IMG_0840light.jpg
Left click on the image to view in Full Screen mode!

Finally when the stars appeared - I started to play with light from my mobile phone to lighten up the ice and to shoot some night-scapes with stars.

IMG_0243nologsmoth.jpg
Left click on the image to view in Full Screen mode!

Used gear: Canon 6D camera, Canon 16-35mm lens, Canon 24-105mm lens, NiSi polar, Cokin ND 0,6 medium, macro rings for ice details, tripod.

All this views and the sounds of freezing and cracking ice made the whole day just magical.
Best so far this year. It loads my inner batteries (and used all camera batteries as well...) but I had to pay some price of sitting on the ice many hours - I got sick next day... Anyway, it was worth it! because now I am totally fine and can share all of this with You!


Thanks for reading and watching, hope You like the short story and my works. Feel free to visit my blog site! All the support very much welcome!

Have a Great Day Steemians!

Sort:  

Really amazing shots! I wish I could use them for the contest but unfortunately they are from January 21, 2018

That is right. It was my first entry and I didn't read the rules so carefuly, saw them after I already done the entry.... I just posted my last phot o trip, havent been nowhere since than... Fully understand, my mistake! Maybe next time! Have to go somwhere with camera!

I'm speechless... I was going to say something but I need to recover.... :D
Must be dangerous to walk there on that ice!!

Thanks! The ice was really safe, in some places was like 40-50cm layers of crushed ice which was already frozen. It was around -15 degree Celsius during night and -10 daytime. It was hard as concrete!

Now, having collected my jaw from the floor, please now just share camera / lens settings and, possibly, some insider tips... thanks for sharing, fellow Steemian!

Hi! Thank You for very positive comment! I just updated info about the gear in post.

Well earned man and welcome. Thanks for the gear update - will have a look at the ND selection for a longer expo.

Wow, these pictures are absolutely jaw-dropping, I'm really impressed, great work!

Great thanks for gooood comment :)

These pictures are amazing. Such beautiful glimpses of the frozen world. Yes, and I appreciate the way you paint the picture of your artistic process, complete with the cricks and cracks of the soundscape. Good news: This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

If you would like to be resteemed by @ocd and reach a bigger audience, use the tag ocd-resteem. Three posts using this tag will be chosen each day by our curators to be RS. Good Luck!

@Ocd now has a witness, please vote for @ocd-witness to help support other undervalued authors!

Hi! Thanks a lo for comment and chosing my post to ocd . Of course I agree to resteem and publish my post on the ocd-resteem. Already know and follow the ocd blog, great place to find interesting people and watch amazing works they are doing!

Thank you Adrian for this journey. I really can't imagine that the sky looks like this in the Norway, but I'm looking through some of your photos and they are breathtaking. Cieszę się, że obaj zostaliśmy nominowani dzisiaj do postu dnia @ocd i mogłem zobaczyc Twój profil. Na pewno będę tu częściej zaglądał. Pozdrawiam.

Dzięki bardzo! Miłego dnia!

Wow, amazing collection of ice shots. Love that long exposure you did with using the cell phone to light that huge chunk of ice. Thanks for sharing! Next time dress warmer ;) Hope you got better quick!

Thank You. Now I am in good form already. I had good clothes but when You crawl on ice, focus on the shots, You simply forget about cold and wet... Well...the price of passion ;). Thank You for comment!

About the light- i really liked this one, because it was quite cold, I think very similar to moon light, it gave a nice colour effect. I tried my head lamp but it wasnt so good.

Price of passion...I love that phrase :) True, my clients laugh when I start crawling on the ground to get the right angle, hehe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59694.50
ETH 2603.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54