Winter's Final Breath - MyPictureDay Submission

in #mypictureday6 years ago (edited)

Croatia - Mediterranean As It Once Was...
Maybe in July.

In February it looks like this:

20180226-_NKE2173-Edit.jpg
Nikon D750 / ISO 800 / 1/80s / f4 / Samyang 24mm f1.4

This is what you get when you combine -7 degrees Celsius, with a 150km/h wind. This actually feels more like -25.

As the wind blows it is lifing very small particles of water and bombards the enviroment. This continues for a couple of days and then you get these poor boats looking like the photo was taken in Murmansk, Russia.

20180226-_NKE2147-Edit.jpg
Nikon D750 / ISO 800 / 1/250s / f4 / Samyang 24mm f1.4

And it was fun shooting also. After maybe 10 minutes my fingers were completely numb. They felt like fat, unusable, good for nothing chopsticks. I did wear some gloves, but they were thin because with thick ones I cannot feel the camera controls. Turned out to be the same after all...

20180226-_NKE2159.jpg
Nikon D750 / ISO 800 / 1/100s / f4 / Samyang 24mm f1.4

Despite the heavy conditions and frozen fingers, I did it enjoy it in a way. It brings out some admiration, to see the nature showing us who's the boss from time to time.

After a while, me and my carrot-fingers decided it was enough so I went back to the car, turned on the heating, and just sat on my hands for 10 minutes...

Funny thing is, in just a couple of weeks, you'll have people walking around this area in shorts.

That's how #MyPictureDay went...

Thanks for reading,

Cheers,
Nino.

Sort:  

You said July in Mediterranean and I though it was salt buildups :P

Can't blame you, that's logical... :)

Wow that looks so cold. Just seeing it on my screen I feel as though my thoughts froze to death. Sorry to hear about the frozen fingers though but it was well worth it, the photos are great! Awesome picture day!

Thank you Gaby

wow, that looks so cold!

Yes, it was :)

Wow, I thought only we in central Europe have those nasty temperatures, wasn't aware that even you in croatia suffer from the cold.
Great Shots btw!

We get proper winter, it's just not as stable as it is in the continent. Probably the same is valid for your summer..?
And this freezing at sea level is happening rarely...

German weather is really fucked up to be honest. We have summers with no more than 22°C and we have summers with weeks of 40°C . Same with winters basically, we have years where there's not even snow and temperatures are always above 0°C, and we have winters with absurdely amounts of snow and freezing temperatures ...

One hint: I've browsed your images - and some of them are really awesome - unfortunately there's no full res version available of them :/
Try adding the images inside a tags

< a href="[YOUR URL]"> < img src="[YOUR URL]" /> < /a>
(without the spaces after the <)

to make them clickable and be full res. (Sorry if this is already known to you - just a well-meant tip)

Ok, thanks for the heads up, I will check it out.

Hi.. your photography is perfect and interesting... I like all of your posts 👌👍

Thank you very much for your kind words. I'll do my best to continue this way :)

Wow! That's crazy... in July too!!! 😬 But they look beautiful... Like floating ice sculptures! In the third photo, the wind looks quite strong, causing the white tops on the sea surface...

I have to rephrase that beginning :)
I wanted to say that Croatia represents Mediterranean in July, but in February it looks like this.
This type of wind hits in gusts. One second it's quite, and the next one it hits with 150km/h. Strongest hit ever measured was 304km/h... You can read about it here if you want:
https://steemit.com/nature/@nkera/the-notorious-croatian-wind-bura
There's even a video footage of a firefighter getting lifted up in the air by the wind... He wasn't injured ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56264.43
ETH 2991.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21