Mayon Volcano, Albay, Philippines

I live in Region III of Luzon Island in the Philippines. I don't travel that much far from my hometown. Though for the first time, I set foot on Region V which is the southeastern peninsula of Luzon Island! What's more incredible is I saw the country's most popular volcano, Mt. Mayon!

Mayon Volcano, to many, is known for its perfect cone shape. Being a geology student myself, it is a composite/stratovolcano--a volcano made of altering layers of pyroclastic materials (ash, tuff) and lava. It has seen many eruptions, but nothing compared to the Pinatubo eruption of 1991.

Mayon is usually difficult to see as most of the time, it is shrouded by thick clouds. Luckily, during a road trip with my friends, I got to snap this photo.

DSC_1098.JPG

Image taken by my Sony Xperia SP Android phone.

Sort:  

Congratulations @gabriel.knight! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54414.30
ETH 2295.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30