Exploring Keppel Bay [#MyPictureDay featuring the Reflections building]

in #mypictureday6 years ago (edited)

Although I've been living in Singapore for about 5 years now, there are places here that I have not visited yet. Since I'm staying at the east side, the thought of going to the west side has never get into me. To give you a sense of scale, if I'm to travel by car, from the east side going to the west, it would take me about half an hour. If I board the MRT, it would take me about less than 2 hours.

To make it simple, I'm just lazy or maybe I'm not motivated enough to go to the other side, haha.

Anyway, last night, I made a difference. I went to the west side of Singapore. I'm not talking about the Jurong area (far side of the west), I went to the Keppel bay! Where is this place? From the center, this is one of the nearest, so this is the first step going to the west side :-)

01.jpg

view of the Keppel bay berths & the Reflections building at the background

My journey starts from the Harbourfront MRT station, from here I walked at about 1 km to get to the Keppel bay area. I prefer to walk and scout the area to find an interesting spot for me to take photos.

02.jpg

Keppel bay vista bridge

Upon approaching the bay area, even at a distance, this imposing pillar has capture my attention and immediately made me took the first shot.

03.jpg

Keppel bay berths and the Marina at Keppel bay building at the far view

I found my spot at the right time, it was my plan all along, to reach the place during sunset and to stay until night falls. There were no activities at the time I arrived, the sea is calm and the sun is slowly setting down while the sky is transforming from blue to golden.

04.jpg

Keppel bay berths with the Reflections building peeping out from the right

While exploring the area, I found a good view of the condominium buildings at the opposite of the Keppel bay. I was standing at the bridge when I shot this picture below, this scene could be mistaken as a view of the east coast side of the United States.

05.jpg

Carribean Waterwall condominiums at the background

Now, going back to the bridge, its beauty is more evident at night. This is the time when the lights are on and it emphasize the interesting part of the bridge, these are the pillar and the cables attached to it. I also like how the lights are reflected on the surface of water.

06.jpg

Keppel bay vista at night

07.jpg

The Reflections condominium building

I hope you enjoy viewing the photos of my explore at the west coast of Singapore. Tonight was a surprise, I never knew that visiting this place will get me to something interesting. It was a quiet neighborhood and a pleasant environment, which makes it easier for me to explore.

In the next #mypictureday, I plan to go further west and look for other interesting places. It could be a garden, or a temple...

Stay tuned!

Have a great weekend everyone!


Cover photo option 3 - resize.jpg


All original photos by author (@funtraveller) using Sony RX1R with 35mm lens

Sort:  

Nice view of the west side. 👍

This little trip was definitely a good idea, because this pics are really great, totally love them <3 and that's how you got a new follower - me :D

Thanks for the compliments @matt.why.not! By the way, you have a nice blogging style. Keep it up.

Thought I was imagining things at first. That reflections building is cool how it leans. Lots of interesting buildings in Singapore.

Good luck with the contest.

It looks weird at some view, lol. During my scout to this area, the buildings seem to adapt the "leaning" designs. It seems that straight lines is too boring for them to look at.

Thanks buddy!

Beautiful and amazing photos.
Beautiful this Your Singapore :)
Best wishes.

Thanks for the kind compliments my friend. I'm happy to share it with everyone. Have a nice day!

Nice post and nice pictures! Good luck for the Contest😉

Thanks a lot buddy. Yes, hope for the best :-)

Thanks! Glad you like it :-)

I love your blog! Thanks for sharing

It's my pleasure to share. Thanks for the compliments :-)

I really like both shots of the condo buildings and marina, well done!

It is fun in exploring new things and places. Seems your traveling is giving some quality photos for you and for us. Always inspired to see such kind of photos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56596.99
ETH 2394.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32