A day of chasing Storm, Kite, and the Light! [MyPictureDay Submission]

in #mypictureday6 years ago (edited)

Storm Timelapse.gif

That is how #mypictureday almost ended!
I got chased out by a storm.


Hi fellow Steemians!!!

Sorry to greet you in a catastrophic way (^-^). For a photography enthusiast like me, this is a disaster. Like all the people down there, I have to run for my life and my camera, hehe. As much as I want to take more photos of the approaching storm, I had to quickly run away and seek shelter.

DSC09542-1-2.jpg

Me standing under the Marina Barrage green roof, watching how the city disappear

Before you get disappointed with #mypictureday post. I just want to say, if this is a story to tell, I guess like any other story there is always a tragic scene and a sweet spot scene. We'll get to the sweet spot at the end of this post. I'd rather deal with the bad news earlier and finish it off with a happy news later, hehehe.

Yesterday, I finish off my work early and got out on a perfect sunny day. The sky was blue and calm, there was a refreshing breeze of air after a few weeks of raining. With that kind of weather, I figured that it could be perfect for Kite flying. Yes! we will go kite flying. Well, not me, because I have to take the photos.

Here in Singapore, the best place to fly a kite is at Marina Barrage. It was situated at Marina Bay on one side, while facing the ocean on the other side. It turned out to be a popular spot for locals and tourist / expats like me who wants to escape from the busy city area and breathe fresh air.

This is my first time to photograph kites and the people in action. I never thought how difficult it is until yesterday, I had to run around and follow the action. On some of the shots I took, I had to lay myself on the ground to get the view and angle that I want to show. If you want to see the action, continue to brows down :-)

DSC09473-1.jpg

03.jpg

04.jpg

05.jpg

Of all the photos that I took, the one below is the one that I enjoyed the most. It was fun to watch this boy trying to fly his own kite. As much as I want to help him, I figured that it is better for him to learn it by himself. He failed today, but I bet he will be able to fly it on his next try.

06.jpg

07.jpg

08.jpg

For this #mypictureday session, my plan was to get to my photography spot and wait until the "blue hour". I had time to spare and so I figured something to kill the boredom. Before I got into doing digital art, I was doing sketch and drawings of anime. I enjoyed it a lot when I was younger.

So while I was waiting for the "blue hour", I tried to redeemed my passion on sketching. And so I tried to sketch the Marina Bay Sands, Garden Dome, & the Singapore Flyer. With my pen and paper, I sketch parts of the building and tried to patch it in my photo of this scenery. I prepared a little timelapse of it, Enjoy!

Sketch Timelapse.gif

The hard part is the scaling of my sketch to fit in to my photo, since I've been using my Sony Rx1r (35mm) for about three years now, I was able to gauge a decent fit on it.

Right at this point, while being stranded by the rain, I told myself to go back home and join #mypictureday on the following week. It turned out that if I wait long enough, the storm would pass, and the sky will become clear again.

True enough, after a long wait, the rain finally subsides and I have got an opportunity to catch the "blue hour". Even though the sky is still hazy, I still managed to catch a bit of this rare light, the "blue hour", which only happens within an hour of the day. I'm happy to share it with you, brows down and enjoy!

09.jpg

view of Singapore Flyer

10.jpg

view of Garden Dome

11.jpg

view of Marina Bay Sands

So that is how my day really ended, it turned out well after the storm. I was happy to finally complete it, the way I planned it to be. I guess the way to achieve it doesn't have to be easy and smooth. On this day, it started well, and then it became bumpy and rough, and eventually became awesome.

On this day also, I rediscovered my old time hobby, that is sketching. I had fun doing it, for sure I will have to do it again on my future posts. Hopefully, I will get better at it. Soon we'll see.

It was a day well spent, I hope you did too.

Have a great weekend everyone!

Sort:  

What a nice time! Seemed like a chill ass day for you. The way you layed it out in your post really kept me engaged and i almost felt like i was chilling with you at the park. Lol

Hehe, glad that you seemed to enjoy this part of my day. Thanks for dropping by! (^-^)

Excellent photography. Resteem :)

Thanks a lot @ozyriusz! really appreciator that :-)

Happy weekend..@funtraveller

Thank you! Happy weekend to you also :-)

Wow ! extraordinary photography
Beautiful pictures thank you..Greets
as a photographer i can say this is very good work!

Thanks a lot @moniristi! Glad to read your feedback. Have a nice day :-)

Wow!Excellent photography.You are really creative photographer. Please stay with photography. how the beautiful natural view is! Very color full also.

Thank you @shishiristi, im trying my best to be creative. Im happy that you like the view also. Yes its really colorful. Have a nice day!

It seems dangerous:)

Hehe, I was a daredevil that time. No worries it all turn out well :-) Thanks @kadri!

Kite flying seems like fun! It's nice to hear you got the photos you wanted in the end. Your pictures really make me want to visit Singapore :)
P.S. Nice sketching skills! Love how you showed them overlapping with the real buildings. Keep it up!

Yeah, I had fun doing the sketch thing, great way to pass time. You should visit SG, I see that you have a mission to travel the world (that's awesome!, I wish I could do that too), stop-by here once you reached Asia. Great travel blogs you have. Keep it up :-)

Singapore has been on our bucket list for quite some time. I really hope we'll get the chance to visit it soon :)

Best of luck for the both of you. I know you'll be able to visit SG sometime soon :-) Have a great day! :-)

Congrats bro u win the contest

Thank you bro!

I wish some day to visit Singapore, and spend a sunny day at the marina bay sands I am sure that the view has to be spectacular, I congratulate you for your incredible photos
Regards!!

Thanks a lot @hendersonp and yes you should visir SG, aside from Marina bay there are more things to see and enjoy. Have a great day! :-)

Cngratulation dear u won the contest and all picture are awesome

Thanks a lot for your kind comment (^-^) Have a great day @luckyboy786!

Thanks dear have a great day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88