Farm inspection - MyPictureDay Submission

in #mypictureday6 years ago

Today I went for a walk around my farm and thanks to @timsaid I wasn’t alone!
I had with me my good old Canon EOS 7D with the Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 USM Macro Lens. So the two of us started a brand new picture day challenge!

First stop the plum trees. The spring fruits that sends away the remaining winter threads and prepares our taste for the summer treats! I expect the plums to be ripe by the end of April.

_MG_0817.jpg

Next stop the mulberry trees. The first leaves are popping out just know but in one month picking berries would be a sensational experience!

_MG_0766.jpg

And now the apricot trees. Such a tastefull fruit and the cause of a big conflict. The mice that live around here believe that the crop is theirs and I believe exactly the same thing :)

_MG_0738.jpg

The almonds are still fresh. You can eat them without peeling them. A special treat as it is and a great nut to preserve for the winter.

_MG_0721.jpg

The pears are on the verge of the transformation from blossom to fruit. I have to wait till the first days of July for a bite.

_MG_0794.jpg

Of course July and August are the fig months! Nothing more to say. Just wait!

_MG_0742.jpg

It’s time to check the vineyard. The formation of the grapes just began but the harvest is in 5 months. Patience…

_MG_0684.jpg

Did you know that walnut trees don’t like pruning? Today we can see the first leaves and some male flowers. The picking of walnuts takes place in the middle of September.

_MG_0752.jpg

The next picture fits best to the what is it game! Can you guess? We are at the carob trees! A very special food that is not very popular. We use it mostly as carob flour. Excellent for bread, cake or cookies!

_MG_0713.jpg

And now the pomegranate trees. My favourite fruit. I can spent two or three days in October eating nothing more than pomegranates, as a self cleaning treatment. Just excellent!

_MG_0778-2.jpg

And last but not least the olive trees. The most important harvest of the island and the superior of all food!

_MG_0763.jpg

I hope you enjoyed the walk :)

Thank you for reading

Sort:  

Nice post! Good idea and very well done shots!

A nice photo essay

I love seeing all that promise of things to come! Nice post, @fotostef!

Thank you for stopping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63157.91
ETH 3096.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91