Mike, Alpha, Yankee, Lima, Yankee, November, Zero, Nine

in #mynameiswhat6 years ago (edited)

My real name is M-A-Y-L-Y-N, not Mylene, not Maylin, never Marlin.

Though it was spelled as the 5th Month, the correct pronunciation of my name's first syllable is /mī/ same as the determiner "My". It is actually the Filipino word for "has/have". My mother's nickname is "Len" so she named my elder sisters as "CathyLENE" and "ReynaLYN". When I was born and they were thinking about how to name me, she said...

"Anything that has LYN on it"
(In Tagalog, "Kahit ano basta may LYN sa dulo")

And that's how they come up with my name. Hope you got it.
image.png
I use this phrase as a signature or my tagline, for my love one's to remember my name and to remind them how I love them.

(MAY) "My
(L) Love for
(Y) you will
(N) never end"

A promise for an endless love.
That's why, for me, my name means "Endless Love". Because that's what true love means for me, Eternal, like God's Love and a Mother's Love to her child.

Each letter also somehow describes my personality. I am...

M➠ image.png

A➠ image.png

Y➠ image.png

L➠ image.png

Y➠ image.png

N➠ image.png

The '09 is my birth date and my lucky number. In numerology, it is the symbol of wisdom and initiation. It is also the number of Universal love, eternity and faith. In Chinese, it has the same pronunciation with "Jiu", meaning "Everlasting".
image.png

Why did I chose to use my real name as my Steemit username?

Simply because this is me! I have nothing to hide. I want people and steemians to address me by my real name because I am more comfortable with it. A person's name is the greatest connection to their own identity and individuality. For me, addressing someone by his or her real name shows politeness and respect.
image.png

Given the chance to be able to change it, will you?

In my opinion, changing my name is like changing my personality, to be anonymous or to pretend like someone else. So, it's a no-no for me because...

This is real, this is me.
I'm exactly where I'm supposed to be, now.
Gonna let the light, shine on me
Now I found who I am
There's no way to hold it in
No more hiding who I wanna be
This is me!
-High School Musical's This is Me


This is my entry for @steemitachievers' contest. I'm nominating @zoeroces, @wagun001, @joeysison and @ishanvirtue to join and give us a glimpse on the story behind their usernames. For steemians who are interested to join the fun, clicking this link will redirect you to the contest's guidelines: My name is What? A writing contest by @Steemitachievers.



Please support @surpassinggoogle as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.

If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.

Please like @teardrops on Facebook and Twitter:
https://www.facebook.com/teardropstokens/
https://twitter.com/teardropstokens

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by maylyn09 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I like how you translated the individual letters.

You have a lovely name. Interesting. Thanks for sharing. I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold. Happy Easter 2018.

Is oatmeal really part of your name?? That was unique then!! Thanks for reading...

People call me Oatmeal because I eat oatmeal hehe. How are you?

Thank you 😊😚

Wow, it's amazing how there' a lot behind the your name. Anyway, you're totally right , changing your name is like changing yourself and unless there's something to hide or you're a fugitive, there's no reason to want to change your name.

hi @nigtroy! how are you? thank you very much for stopping by and for your time reading my post...

I am doing great, how about you. Hope you've been having a nice time here.

great post... i think i will join the contest as well hahaha

You just received a 9.50% upvote from @honestbot, courtesy of @maylyn09!
WaveSmall.gif

This is one cool introducing yourself. done upvoting. keep steeming.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63619.61
ETH 2698.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59