Meeting Up the Nice Folks of Steem Team Malaysia 2018 @ Big Hug Burger

in #mymeetup186 years ago (edited)

I am bad!

It's been almost 2 weeks since the Team Malaysia 2018 Steem Gathering and here I am writing about it only today. Between work, life and everything else in between it has conveniently slipped my placenta brain to post about this. It did cross my mind to just let it pass but it was such a memorable event and it's a shame if I do not write about it.

By the way, thank you @davidke20 for your reply to my message on your post had prompted me of this gathering today.

Just before the year ended an announcement was made that the first #teammalaysia Steem gathering will be held on 13th January at Big Hug Burger. I knew I had to make it to this one because I was really looking forward to meet the nice folks I had interacted with in the short span I was in the community.

Just as luck would have it, I managed to earn enough SBD from my first two posts and the rates were extremely favourable around that time. So I quickly registered, got my SBD changed into Steem and paid and waited for the big day to come.

So 13th January came and thank goodness for Waze, I managed to find the venue without much hassle. I have heard so much about Big Hug Burger but never had the chance to pay a visit. And the good thing is the restaurant is located on the premises of Subang Square so the parking was convenient despite it's location being in one of the more difficult areas to find a parking spot in Subang.

Upon arrival, I received a warm welcome from @karinzdailygrind and quickly registered and headed straight to the counter to place my order. Almost everyone was already there and being the introvert I am, I have no idea where to head to so I aimed straight to the counter and ordered a lamb burger and got myself a drink.

I am not great with crowds and wasn't sure what to do next so I hung around the middle section of the restaurant, and then my angel came in the form of @viverridae. She had the coolest hair colour by the way. We introduced ourselves and warmed up to each other quickly. I asked her if I can join her table and she happily showed me to where she was seated and there I met 3 other nice young ladies - @hanbun, @elliebong and @artsyhooman.

@Viverridae I need to let you know I was really grateful to bump into you otherwise I would be really lost. Thank you!

IMG_6525.jpg

Not long after that my food came and because I was too busy chatting I had missed out taking a photo of the lamb burger. The portion was big and the patty was juicy and cooked to perfection. Delicious! I managed to finish the whole chunk on my own.

IMG_6524 (1).jpg
@bitrocker2020 giving a speech to officiate the event. It was such an honour when the Big Brother said "Ah, Ladylei, I remember you!"

I didn't manage to mingle around other tables because a lot of people dropped by our table to say hi. Definitely not complaining!

I recognised @kaerpediem and her 4 kids from the video she posted not too long ago regarding their trip to check out Christmas decorations at Mid Valley and 1 Utama. We chatted quite a bit on kids, work and the “BIG” question of where does the money come from. Hehe…

IMG_6528.jpg

@natalielo came around to pass us her mini ginger spice soap (the smell is heavenly!) and I managed to learn a thing or two about honey from her. She shared that the honey normally used in her ingredients are sourced from Sabah and she tries to incorporate a bit of Borneo in her products. I think that is such a novel concept.

IMG_6526.jpg

@kokuryo was the one who probably stayed the longest at our table. We pretty much covered a lot of topics that day from work, steemit, family to a bit of gossip!

A few others whom I managed to briefly catch up with at our table includes @danieldoughty, @elizacheng, @deborism and @francesaw. There were probably a few others which I have missed out – sorry guys.

Towards the end of the event, @zord189 came and provided us with a lot of tips on what to write and about finding our own niche. Thank you @zord189, that was really insightful.

IMG_6529.jpg

We continued to chat in groups after the event was over. Everyone was still excited and doesn’t seem to be in hurry to leave. It was here that I managed to meet @littlenewthings as well, the ever capable multi tasker. And she looked exactly like the caricature in her profile photo!

the ladies.JPG
Photo taken from @kokuryo, without his permission - ahem. You'll forgive me right?

I was so glad to be there, and to be a part of #teammalaysia. Looking forward to meet up with you guys again!

Sort:  

Good to see you @ladylei! you are so prettyy hope to see you again at the next meeting ^_^

Thanks @elliebong! I had the same thought about you too! Looking forward to the next one!

Nice meeting you @ladylei, and thanks for the mention

Same here Daniel. Pleasure is mine.

Glad to have met you too!!! Thank you for the shoutout! :)

Always welcome! Thanks for dropping by and putting $$ into our pockets.

Your version of #mymeetup18 is much better than mine. I love it!

Thanks for being super cool and awesome too. And it is nice talking to you in real person. Seriously 😊

No way mine is better. You are just being nice like you always do. Am so happy to meet you in person too!

i thought got another gathering again. :D

Lol, sorry for the confusion.

@ladylei ... It was great that you came . It's good to finally put a face to the name ! Thank you so much for coming and meet the amazing ppl from teammalaysia

Thanks @bitrocker2020. Wouldn’t wanna miss this!

I stay longest? haha because you, me and @Viverridae clicked. hahaha
You can take any photo taken by me, without having to get permission. Always approved. hehehe

I know right? Semua cerita boleh masuk

Yes @viverridae. Bila la boleh bercerita lagi?

Psttt ... Maybe on September? We go yamcha 😊

Sept... Wow, now only January.. :(

Time flies! Before we know it it’ll be september already. Let’s make it a date!

Time does fly very very fast... I would love to join too... And maybe everyone @kokuryo @ladylei @viverridae can bring up our little ones too... By September our junior team should be very kuat liao... 😉❤️💖💗💕

You've said exactly what I was thinking @elizacheng

So, what say you @ladylei , @kokuryo ? 😬😬

Yes, you were there i think like from half time onwards. Thanks for the photo and it was a lot of fun chatting with both of you that day :)

Better late than never @ladylei 😃... enjoyed the read and I still don’t know where it comes from hahaha

haha... in time we will

Cool! Have fun steeming! Both side are doing correction now, no point hanging with those orders anymore. Suddenly all my Steem -> SBD got triggered and now I'm holding a bunch of SBD which has higher fiat value. Thinking of cash out and send to other crypto for parking first. Kekekekeke

haha ok will await to see what tips you manage to come up with next

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 61428.91
ETH 3382.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50