1st Malaysian Steemian meetup 2018

in #mymeetup186 years ago (edited)

It's a cold Saturday morning, I woke up around 10:30am contemplating if I should get ready or stay in bed until lunch.

Get ready for what? why of course the 1st ever major Steemian meetup in Malaysia!

Long story short, I dragged myself out of bed, brushed my teeth yada yada yada and sped towards the Big Hug Burger joint where everyone else is converging at.

Upon arrival at the burger joint, it was already full of Steemians. After greeting @davidke20 who was on reception duty, big boss @bitrocker2020 and @awesomianist at the entrance, I sat down with @denion & family and @aaronleang after ordering my food.

While waiting for my burger I enjoyed a platter of appetizers.


Not long after, a staff kindly hand delivered my burger to yours truly, and my eyes widened when I saw how huge it was.

Full disclosure - I am not a burger person, and especially not a LARGE burger person! Big Hug's grilled lamb burger was delicious to be sure, but my mouth was not big enough bite it down so I summoned the help of knives and forks....

...I am sorry I did this to your burger, @danielwong (one of the owners of Big Hug).

But enough of my disgusting burger-munching ways. Our attention was soon commanded by the voice of @zord189, the emcee of the hour....

....Who then introduced team Malaysia bossman @bitrocker2020

Several exciting announcements were made by him:

  • A few Malaysia businesses, including Big Hug Burger, will be accepting payment in STEEM from their customers.
  • Some facts and figures showing that team malaysia has been growing steadily, including at least RM240,000 in pending payments in the next 7 days within the team.
  • Team Malaysia Junior initiative.
  • Our own SteemFest in Malaysia this year.
  • Team Malaysia cartoonist/artist group event in Muzium Negara on the 23rd January.

It seems 2018 will be a great year to be a Steemian in Team Malaysia.

It was certainly nice to put a face to the names that I see everyday on Team Malaysia Discord channel. I am sort of a private person so I didn't mingle as much, but those I did personally greeted with (other those mentioned above) include @littlenewthings @voltranrex @karinzdailygrind @joeliew @francesaw  and @danieldoughty with his legendary question "WHAT IS STEEMIT?"

I'm sorry I didn't manage to talk to many others in attendance, I recognize more than a few names though so it's still great to see you all! I promise to be more social the next time we meet! :P

GROUP PHOTO! where only one quarter of my head decided to participate ROFLMAO.

I had a great time today, thanks to the comitee for putting together such an epic event and @danielwong for hosting it. Definitely looking forward to the next meetup!

Sort:  

nice to meet you there.

Nice to meet you too! Let's grab a drink when I return to Ipoh.

I think @danielwong wouldn't mind us "tearing" up his burgers and Ngom Ngom Ngom... Coz this means the burgers are yummilicious and finger licking good!

I licked the knife so.... close enough!! :P

Don't tell me you lick the fork and plate as well... LOL

Of course I didn't!!

too many people around shhh

hi 5 on lamb and using the fork and knife to devour the burger!
You are not alone @dxn .

Slowly enjoying every bite of it is better than chomping off too wuickly without savoring its taste will not do justice to the burger.

Ya wor...at least I didn't do it the way I ate my subways....dismantle the whole thing and eat the ingredients separately -_-

Looking forward for next meet up bro. Cheers for the mention

It was a pleasure to make your acquaintance ;)

It was nice to meet you too @dxn! Glad you enjoyed the burger and the company of fellow Steemians. Keep Steeming!

Oh snap I just realized I misspelled your name in my post! -_- Fixed and a thousand apologies!

I had a great time, thanks to the hard work from you and the committee. Looking forward to the next meetup!

You are welcome @dxn. No worries about it. Glad that you had a fun time

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65457.15
ETH 2939.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68